AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Jason
Message 1 of 15 (2,406 Views)

force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

2406 Views, 14 Replies
10-14-2009 12:08 PM
I am trying display my annotation scale that is different than my viewport
scale. Everytime I switch the viewport scale the annotation scale changes.
Can I turn this relationship off?
*Joe Bouza
Message 2 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:23 PM in reply to: *Jason
Why would you want to do this? Make a style that give you the height you
want at the given scale, no?
*Jason
Message 3 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:29 PM in reply to: *Jason
I am doing some field work and I want the survey points to appear larger on
the print. Normally I can just switch this in the properties dialog box, but
for some reason when I switch the annotation scale the viewport scale jumps
up with it.


"Joe Bouza" wrote in message
news:6271522@discussion.autodesk.com...
Why would you want to do this? Make a style that give you the height you
want at the given scale, no?
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 4 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:32 PM in reply to: *Jason
I'm with Jason on this one. There are odd times that I need a 1"=50' VP but want to keep ALL of the annotation at a 1"=20' size.
This is usually when I need multiple Viewports so I can't do it from model space. I don't want to have to change to different styles to do this. An override of some sort is needed.

Bruce
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Active Member
s_carter
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 5 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:39 PM in reply to: *Jason
I believe that if you select the viewport and view the viewport properties, there are two settings there. One for annotative scale and one for viewport scale. The order in which you change them is important though. I believe you have to set your viewport scale first, then change the annotative scale second.
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:53 PM in reply to: *Jason
You can set the scales independently using ZOOM XP or CANNOSCALE, but we've found no benefit to doing so.

The problem is that C3D labels use the VP scale, and ignore the CANNOSCALE. So you can get the values set differently, but the next time you regen your drawing, all the C3D labels will rescale themselves based on the viewport. To be able to do things like this, we really need C3D labels to scale based on the Annotation Scale, and not on the viewport scale.

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 7 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:53 PM in reply to: *Jason
I tried every combination I could think of when I first ran into this problem. I never could get those settings to change the text the way I wanted. After a regen the text ALWAYS matched the vp scale * .12 (for us). If you know the secret method I would like to try again.

I hate telling co-workers "It can't be done"

Thanks,
Bruce
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 8 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 12:55 PM in reply to: *Jason
Dang Sinc,

You type faster than me :smileyhappy:

Bruce
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Active Member
Silverphoenix
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 9 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 01:19 PM in reply to: *Jason
The following method works for me in C3d 2008. I haven't tried it in other versions.

Create the vport and set the scale to the annotative choice I want.
From the Viewports toolbar, select or enter the vport scale I want.

If I try this using the pulldowns at the bottom of the screen it will not work. Only the viewport toolbar process operates as desired.

This results in a vport with two separate scales. If I change the annotative scale again, I have to repeat the process.
The scales remain even after a close or regen/regenall.
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 10 of 15 (2,406 Views)

Re: force different annotation scale vs viewport scale

10-14-2009 01:38 PM in reply to: *Jason
Yes, the scales remain set that way, but C3D labels still scale according to the VP scale.

The OP is trying to change the VP scale while having the labels on C3D points remain the same size relative to the linework. Unfortunately, this is currently impossible. Basically, the desire is to be able to select "Use Annotative Scale" as an option to resize points, rather than the option we currently have to "Use Drawing Scale" (which actually defaults to "Use Viewport Scale" in paperspace).

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs