AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
herb8868
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 1 of 10 (2,224 Views)
Accepted Solution

font problem

2224 Views, 9 Replies
11-29-2011 08:13 AM

maybe you have seen this before and found solution
We are using font Arial narrow for text and for labelling
for some estrange reason the text in paper space is thin and light
(in the way we want it) and the one from the labels (Model Space of course)
much thicker and dark.
Any ideas or solutions you may have applied

 

Thanks,

Hector

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 10 (2,195 Views)

Re: font problem

11-30-2011 06:18 AM in reply to: herb8868

Hi Hector,

 

Have you checked VP Color, VP Linetype and Lineweight, VP Transparency? These could be found in Layer manager if you scroll over. Look for layer where the label is placed on. 

 

It may be helpful if you could post your drawing and tell what label is behaving that way.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 542
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 3 of 10 (2,178 Views)

Re: font problem

12-01-2011 08:14 AM in reply to: herb8868

I have experienced the same issue. This is specific to true type fonts Arial Narrow included. I've narrowed the problem to the fact that the text object is at an elevation. Do a simple test with a string of text using an arial narrow text style at Z=0, copy the same text string and place it at say Z=100. Print it out and the one at an elevation will be bolder. <See PDF> So this means that any labels using a TTF will be bolder, since the label is at elevation.

 

I haven't found a work around or fix. :smileysad:

~Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 4 of 10 (2,176 Views)

Re: font problem

12-01-2011 08:20 AM in reply to: MarySeufert

Good finding Mary :smileyhappy:,

 

See if this helps as a possible workaround:

 

Select the text object that is displaying bold and manually change the Z coordinate in the Properties palette to 0 (even though it may already display as 0)

 

If this happens when using OSNAPS, you can also set AutoCAD to use the current elevation when using OSNAPS, but going to Options > Drafting tab > and checking Replace Z value with current elevation in the Object Snap Options section.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 542
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 5 of 10 (2,168 Views)

Re: font problem

12-01-2011 09:42 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

This fixes only normal text objects, mleaders, etc. Some Civil3D Labels using the TTF will still be at elevation. No fix for them....

 

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Contributor
herb8868
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 6 of 10 (2,159 Views)

Re: font problem

12-01-2011 10:20 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Thanks Mary

I did what you had done the other day with the same result and

I tried all the work around suggested with the same result

Thanks again

Hector

Contributor
herb8868
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 7 of 10 (2,146 Views)

Re: font problem

12-02-2011 07:26 AM in reply to: herb8868

I did try all you suggested and still the same

also I tried differets possible solutions like move the text to 0 elevation

and also does not work.

At the end I discovered that making a PDF and printing from the pdf itself it works

and the prints looks acceptable.

Thanks for your assistance

 

Hector

Contributor
david_spittle
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Message 8 of 10 (2,079 Views)

Re: font problem

04-02-2012 03:40 PM in reply to: herb8868

Is there still not a solution for this problem? This problem always wastes my time and my colleagues time.

 

Come on Autodesk!

New Member
wakened
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 9 of 10 (2,030 Views)

Re: font problem

05-02-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: herb8868

We have recently upgraded to Windows 7 (64 bit).  The first installation of AutoCAD 2007 was fine.  The font on the screen looked fine, the print outs looked fine, everything was great.  IT moved the items on the server.  Some people didn't need to re-install, however there were some of us who did.  Since this time (at least 6 months ago), I have had thin font on the screen (I hadn't changed any settings), thin font on print outs from AutoCAD, however if I print to PDF, it prints just fine.  If I run AutoCAD in 256 color, looks just fine, however, it modifies the rest of my computer while in AutoCAD and I cannot run my other programs because they aren't 256 color programs.  We have tried re-installing several times, however, we cannot get it to work like the initial insallation.

 

It is a waste of time to print to PDF, when I should be able to print directly from AutoCAD.

 

Only thing I can think is that my computer and printer are 64 bit and that PDF doesn't care.  But I don't know where to go from there.

 

Any ideas?

Member
jgrove1975
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 10 of 10 (1,578 Views)

Re: font problem

02-25-2013 10:22 AM in reply to: herb8868

it is yet another problem that Autodesk just refuses to fix.  What i have happeneing is that any time i use an o-snap to place text or leaders, i get the problem, however if I do not use the object snaps, the text appears fine to me.  If you turn lineweight display on in your drawings you will be able to see the problem without printing.---- and still no fix.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs