AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 11 of 20 (441 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

07-22-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: bryn itchell

In AutoCAD command line type this

 

(findfile "ACADDOC.lsp")

 This should return the path of ACADDOC.lsp

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,694
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 12 of 20 (438 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

07-22-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: Ajilal.Vijayan
This is true - if acaddoc.lsp isn't found then follow my previous post
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
New Member
s.smith4972
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 13 of 20 (353 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

01-23-2014 01:33 PM in reply to: bryn itchell

Hi I am not an expert by any means on CAD, however somethign has cause my computer to to that thing they're all talking about on this forum where you have to type the name of the drawing in to open it.

 

I have tried typing Fieldia=1 in and what ever i type it just says there is not a drawing of this name?!!?

 

Please help I have major project drawings to finish and i cant open them..... I also noticed I couldnt save as when recently working in CAD I had to save over what I had done.

 

I forgot to mention this is Civil 3D 2013

 

Thanks

Sam

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 14 of 20 (348 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

01-23-2014 01:47 PM in reply to: s.smith4972
If it's asking for the drawing name, type a tilde. It's normally at the top left of the keyboard, looks like this ~
Then, when you have a drawing open, type FILEDIA in the commandline. Hit enter. Then type 1. Enter.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

New Member
s.smith4972
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 15 of 20 (329 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

01-25-2014 06:54 AM in reply to: troma

Thank you sooo much!! it worked a treat!

New Member
prash.tar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2014
Message 16 of 20 (269 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

04-14-2014 09:30 PM in reply to: bryn itchell

It works ........Thank you very much for the solution

New Member
KBN11
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-27-2014
Message 17 of 20 (131 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

06-27-2014 12:57 PM in reply to: mwright

Hello;

What if the command line does not show up? I type in FILEDIA after the sentence: "Enter name of drawing to open <.>" and nothing happens

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,599
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 18 of 20 (125 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

06-27-2014 01:22 PM in reply to: KBN11

KBN11 wrote:

Hello;

What if the command line does not show up? I type in FILEDIA after the sentence: "Enter name of drawing to open <.>" and nothing happens


Read the 23-01-2014 10:47 PM post, man.

New Member
prash.tar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2014
Message 19 of 20 (110 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

06-28-2014 05:57 AM in reply to: KBN11
​Enter Filedia command and change value to 1


Regards,
Prashant​
Valued Contributor
johngordon6189
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎03-27-2006
Message 20 of 20 (80 Views)

Re: enter name of drawing to open??

07-01-2014 12:12 PM in reply to: prash.tar
Just to clarify for those having difficulty understanding what you are being advised... If you happen to get the prompt for file opening or saving at the command line and not the dialog you expect to see, hit escape to exit the command and THEN type filedia at the command line and change the value to 1. Then try the open or save command again and you will see the dialog box. John

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs