AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 9 (242 Views)

dynamic block issue

242 Views, 8 Replies
07-10-2012 05:47 AM

I made a simple block for a utility pole in plan view. It consisted of a donut with one string of mtext beside it. I had  created it so that the text would orientate itself to be horizontal in each viewport regardless of the ucs angle. I later added a line for a guy wire and made the block dynamic with visibility states. Now I am unable to have the text orientate to a horizontal position in the viewports. Any ideas?

 

Thanks

 

Wil

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,476
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 9 (227 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-10-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Edit the block, delete the existing text, add it again.Does that help?

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 3 of 9 (198 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-17-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Unfortunately that doesn't work.

 

Wil

Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 4 of 9 (192 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-17-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
Sorry for the late response, but no it doesn't work. Worth a try though. Thanks Wilf Carter Senior Designer [cid:image001.png@01CD640B.1EFDCDA0] 102 Portland Street Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada B2Y 1H8 www.ablenvironmental.comPh: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111 Fax: 902-469-4399 wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 9 (191 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-17-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Is the text a block attribute or imbedded mtext in the block? Mtext in the block works on my end, but attributes will not

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 6 of 9 (183 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-17-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
mtext Wilf Carter Senior Designer [cid:image001.png@01CD642A.4D091FA0] 102 Portland Street Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada B2Y 1H8 www.ablenvironmental.comPh: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111 Fax: 902-469-4399 wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 9 (177 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-17-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Gee I put Mtext in a block and it worked. Are you sure you checked the visual fidelity box for the style to orient to the view? Can you post the block?

 

visfidelity.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 8 of 9 (160 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-18-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
The box is checked. I've tried using text, mtext and attributes. I've tried making the text associative, I tried making it not associative. I tried clicking both "yes" and "no" to "match orientation to layout". When I insert it into a file containing all my other dynamic blocks and go into the block editor, I've tried clicking both "yes" and "no" to "associative. When I try to pick "yes" for "match orientation to layout", it immediately defaults back to "no". I've tried as many combinations of text types and settings as I can think of and nothing works - and I can't stop the "match orientation to layout" to defaulting back to no". Wilf Carter Senior Designer [cid:image001.png@01CD64C4.FDA3A3E0] 102 Portland Street Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada B2Y 1H8 www.ablenvironmental.comPh: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111 Fax: 902-469-4399 wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
Product Support
Volker_C
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 9 of 9 (146 Views)

Re: dynamic block issue

07-19-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Hi,

 

Can you post the block so that we can examine it?

 

Thanks!

Volker

Please let us know if your questions have been answered by selecting, "Accept as Solution"



Volker Cocco
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs