AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
JohnPowell
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-28-2005
Message 1 of 10 (57 Views)

disapering profiles

57 Views, 9 Replies
09-02-2005 11:23 AM
I AM NEW TO CIV 3D 2006. I HAVE BUILT A PROFILE AND ALL THE PRE-REQUISITE STUFF TO GET TO IT. I FINISHED THE PROJECT AND DRAWINGS (A COUPLE DAYS WORK) AND WENT INTO THE DRAWING THIS MORNING TO PLOT AND THE PROFILES ARE GONE. I DID A DRAWING RECOVERY (AS PROMPTED) AND THE GRIDS ARE STILL THERE AND WHEN I HAVE THE MOUSE OVER THE GRID IT GIVES STATIONING AND ELEV. HOW DO I GET THE PROFILE OF MY SURFACE BACK?
*Darron Agawa
Message 2 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 11:29 AM in reply to: JohnPowell
Right-click your profile view and check your Profile View
Properties..Profiles tab to see if you have profiles still available to
be viewed. They may have been deleted accidentally.
*Himanshu Gohel
Message 3 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 11:41 AM in reply to: JohnPowell
JohnPowell wrote:
> I AM NEW TO CIV 3D 2006. I HAVE BUILT A PROFILE AND ALL THE PRE-REQUISITE STUFF TO GET TO IT. I FINISHED THE PROJECT AND DRAWINGS (A COUPLE DAYS WORK) AND WENT INTO THE DRAWING THIS MORNING TO PLOT AND THE PROFILES ARE GONE. I DID A DRAWING RECOVERY (AS PROMPTED) AND THE GRIDS ARE STILL THERE AND WHEN I HAVE THE MOUSE OVER THE GRID IT GIVES STATIONING AND ELEV. HOW DO I GET THE PROFILE OF MY SURFACE BACK?

John,

Looks like you might have more than one issue here:

Did the profiles 'disappear' before or after you were asked to recover
the drawing?

In your drawing, turn on the toolspace window (SHOWTS), and drill down
into your site till you find the profiles in question. Select each one
and right-click to bring up its properties. Does the data look correct
(min-max station/elevation) in the Profile Data tab? That would ensure
that your data is present.

Next go to the Information tab, and look at the Object Style. select
the drop-down button next to edit and choose "Edit Current Selection".
In the Profile Style dialog, switch to the Display tab. Check that the
visibility flags for Line/Curve/parabola/.. are turned on and that the
colors don't match the background.

If all this is OK and you still don't see the profile, please zip your
file and post it to the newsgroup. Thanks.

--
Himanshu Gohel. Civil3D Team, Autodesk, Inc.
Autodesk Civil3D Product Information: http://www.autodesk.com/civil3d
Active Contributor
JohnPowell
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-28-2005
Message 4 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 11:42 AM in reply to: JohnPowell
I DID WHAT YOU SUGGESTED AND THERE AND UNDER THE GRAPH DATA TAB THERE IS ALIGN AND ELEV. INFO, PROFILE TAB SHOWS THE INFO FOR THE PROFILE (SURFACE, SAT., ELEV., ALIGN.) ANY IDEAS?
Active Contributor
JohnPowell
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-28-2005
Message 5 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 01:06 PM in reply to: JohnPowell
I DID ALL THAT STUFF AND EVERYTHING APPEARS COSHER, HERE IS AN ATTATCHED FILE HOPE YOU CAN HELP BUT IN THE MEAN TIME I AM GOING TO REDO THE 3D STUFF EXPLODE THE RESULTS AND PASTE MY 2D STUFF ON TOP SO I CAN GET THE PROJECT OUT THE DOOR
*Laurie Comerford
Message 6 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 01:27 PM in reply to: JohnPowell
Hi,

In addition make sure the layers to display the data aren't turned off.

Also John - wopuld you mind turning your Capslock key off when posting to
the Newsgroup. Is is so hard to read compared with normal sentence case
text.

--

Laurie Comerford
CADApps
www.cadapps.com.au
"Himanshu Gohel" wrote in message
news:4946825@discussion.autodesk.com...
JohnPowell wrote:
> I AM NEW TO CIV 3D 2006. I HAVE BUILT A PROFILE AND ALL THE PRE-REQUISITE
> STUFF TO GET TO IT. I FINISHED THE PROJECT AND DRAWINGS (A COUPLE DAYS
> WORK) AND WENT INTO THE DRAWING THIS MORNING TO PLOT AND THE PROFILES ARE
> GONE. I DID A DRAWING RECOVERY (AS PROMPTED) AND THE GRIDS ARE STILL THERE
> AND WHEN I HAVE THE MOUSE OVER THE GRID IT GIVES STATIONING AND ELEV. HOW
> DO I GET THE PROFILE OF MY SURFACE BACK?

John,

Looks like you might have more than one issue here:

Did the profiles 'disappear' before or after you were asked to recover
the drawing?

In your drawing, turn on the toolspace window (SHOWTS), and drill down
into your site till you find the profiles in question. Select each one
and right-click to bring up its properties. Does the data look correct
(min-max station/elevation) in the Profile Data tab? That would ensure
that your data is present.

Next go to the Information tab, and look at the Object Style. select
the drop-down button next to edit and choose "Edit Current Selection".
In the Profile Style dialog, switch to the Display tab. Check that the
visibility flags for Line/Curve/parabola/.. are turned on and that the
colors don't match the background.

If all this is OK and you still don't see the profile, please zip your
file and post it to the newsgroup. Thanks.

--
Himanshu Gohel. Civil3D Team, Autodesk, Inc.
Autodesk Civil3D Product Information: http://www.autodesk.com/civil3d
*Darron Agawa
Message 7 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-02-2005 03:20 PM in reply to: JohnPowell
Look in your Toolspace and see if your surface needs to be rebuilt. I
tried rebuilding it, but was missing the files that were required (a
.tin & .pnt file). Perhaps you are, too.
Active Contributor
JohnPowell
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-28-2005
Message 8 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-06-2005 03:13 PM in reply to: JohnPowell
Thank you guys for working on my problem,I found the problem. When my Sr. engineer opened the drawing for review he used LDD 2005 and did not have "show proxy graphics" "on" (tools, options...) which made it so that he could not see the grid. when he saved and closed, and then I tried to open the file and it gave me error messages, please recover. After I recovered the drawing we found the problem.
*Daniel Philbrick
Message 9 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-07-2005 05:10 AM in reply to: JohnPowell
John,

We have also taken a look at the drawing. The drawing is missing the
Profile "Display Representation". This is what tells the profile how to
draw. The profile data is in the drawing, it is not being drawn. The
steps you have provided may give us some ideas has to how this happened.

One way to get the profiles to display is to create a new drawing and then
insert this drawing into the new drawing. I was able to get the profiles to
display again after that procedure. However, since you modified the
"Standard" Styles, you may notice that the profiles will display according
to the "Standard"styles in the new drawing.

Thanks for additional steps.

Daniel Philbrick
Autodesk Civil 3D Development Team.


wrote in message news:4946818@discussion.autodesk.com...
I AM NEW TO CIV 3D 2006. I HAVE BUILT A PROFILE AND ALL THE PRE-REQUISITE
STUFF TO GET TO IT. I FINISHED THE PROJECT AND DRAWINGS (A COUPLE DAYS
WORK) AND WENT INTO THE DRAWING THIS MORNING TO PLOT AND THE PROFILES ARE
GONE. I DID A DRAWING RECOVERY (AS PROMPTED) AND THE GRIDS ARE STILL THERE
AND WHEN I HAVE THE MOUSE OVER THE GRID IT GIVES STATIONING AND ELEV. HOW DO
I GET THE PROFILE OF MY SURFACE BACK?
*Karen Dowling, Autodesk ISD Test Develo
Message 10 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: disapering profiles

09-12-2005 10:31 AM in reply to: JohnPowell
John,
Was hoping to be able to get more information that might help track down at
what point the drawing lost it's profile display rep setting.

If you have a moment to discuss, email me at karen.dowling@autodesk.com

Thanks,

Karen


"Daniel Philbrick" wrote in message
news:4948905@discussion.autodesk.com...
John,

We have also taken a look at the drawing. The drawing is missing the
Profile "Display Representation". This is what tells the profile how to
draw. The profile data is in the drawing, it is not being drawn. The
steps you have provided may give us some ideas has to how this happened.

One way to get the profiles to display is to create a new drawing and then
insert this drawing into the new drawing. I was able to get the profiles to
display again after that procedure. However, since you modified the
"Standard" Styles, you may notice that the profiles will display according
to the "Standard"styles in the new drawing.

Thanks for additional steps.

Daniel Philbrick
Autodesk Civil 3D Development Team.


wrote in message news:4946818@discussion.autodesk.com...
I AM NEW TO CIV 3D 2006. I HAVE BUILT A PROFILE AND ALL THE PRE-REQUISITE
STUFF TO GET TO IT. I FINISHED THE PROJECT AND DRAWINGS (A COUPLE DAYS
WORK) AND WENT INTO THE DRAWING THIS MORNING TO PLOT AND THE PROFILES ARE
GONE. I DID A DRAWING RECOVERY (AS PROMPTED) AND THE GRIDS ARE STILL THERE
AND WHEN I HAVE THE MOUSE OVER THE GRID IT GIVES STATIONING AND ELEV. HOW DO
I GET THE PROFILE OF MY SURFACE BACK?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs