AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 1 of 11 (415 Views)
Accepted Solution

creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

415 Views, 10 Replies
03-01-2012 11:35 AM

I have created 2 surfaces of a matierial that is buried, using drill hole data.  I have a surface for the top, and then a surface for the bottom of this material.  I then created a 3rd suface comparing these 2, creating an isopac contour showning the thickness of the material.  My question is this:.....is there a way to make the zero (0) contour show up?  I have a .5 contour interval, but 0 doesn't generate.  Could i be missiing something in the settings?  Thanks for any help.

mkh
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,293
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 11 (411 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

What version of C3D are you using?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 3 of 11 (408 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

using 2011 C3D

mkh
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,293
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 11 (403 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

OK, well I know I recall seeing this issue, but I'm pretty sure it was for an older version....and now I can't find any references to it.

 

Make sure your Major contours are set to display. If they are and 0 contour still doesn't show....

Make sure your UserDefined contours are set to display. Do a Surface Analysis for User Defined Contours, add 1 range at elevation 0. You should then be able to view the 0 elevation contours.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 5 of 11 (395 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:21 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

not sure how to do the surface analysis.

mkh
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,293
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 11 (393 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

Surface Properties (right click in Prospector, right click when selecting surface in the drawing, or on the Ribbon), Analysis tab, under Analysis type choose User Defined Contours, for the Range set it to 1, use the arrow to the right to 'send' it to the window below, change the elevation to 0.

 

3-1-2012 12-24-55 PM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 7 of 11 (387 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

great.....a picture is worth a thousand words they say!  That helped a lot. Thanks very much.

mkh
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,293
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 8 of 11 (382 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

Glad I could help! I know you marked a post as the solution, but thought this still might apply:

 

If you find a response which answers your question, please be sure to accept the actual post which helped you as the solution. This will help future searchers quickly find answers to their own questions. Thanks!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 9 of 11 (380 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

you got it.

 

MKH

mkh
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,745
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 10 of 11 (348 Views)

Re: creating thickness contours (difference between 2 surfaces)

03-01-2012 06:07 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

...and it helps Jeff get a better rating as a poster :smileyhappy:...

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.