AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
wbcad21
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 1 of 12 (342 Views)

converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

342 Views, 11 Replies
02-04-2013 02:09 PM

Can someone suggest a method for exporting an alignment as a shapefile in C3D 2011?  Any help would be greatly appeciated.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 12 (323 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-04-2013 04:28 PM in reply to: wbcad21

You can explode it down to a polyline object and then use Mapexport to export the polyline. The type of export will be Line.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 12 (310 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-04-2013 06:35 PM in reply to: tcorey

Don't explode it - offset 1m right then 1m left to create a polyline copy of the alignment.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 12 (299 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-04-2013 10:33 PM in reply to: wbcad21
I agree. That's better than exploding.
Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,932
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 12 (294 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: sboon

sboon wrote:

Don't explode it - offset 1m right then 1m left to create a polyline copy of the alignment.


Just remember to delete that polyline afterward or you may forget it's there and months from now want to know why your alingment turned into a pline or has a pline on top of it. Now if you want some data in that shp file you can export to SDF then convert that to shp format by importing it into a blank dwg and create Object Data then export to shp format.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,243
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 12 (286 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 05:37 AM in reply to: Murph

You can alternatively export civil objects out to an .sdf file as well.  Works better in my opinion...

 

Capture.PNG

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 7 of 12 (271 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: TRogers

Todd, I like this option because it's cleaner than screwing with your drawing by exploding or offsetting.

 

Once you have the SDF file, don't you then have to import that into a new drawing from where you would use Mapexport to create the SHP?

 

I notice that when you bring the object back from SDF, it has some object data available. Do you know a way to tell the SDF export which data to include?

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,243
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 12 (270 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 08:26 AM in reply to: tcorey

Unfortunately there is not way to select objects to export.  I have this on the wish list though!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,932
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 12 (256 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 02:59 PM in reply to: TRogers

trogers wrote:

You can alternatively export civil objects out to an .sdf file as well.  Works better in my opinion...

 

 



Didn't I say that. :smileyhappy:

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,243
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 12 (252 Views)

Re: converting an alignment to a shapefile in C3d 2011

02-05-2013 03:02 PM in reply to: Murph

Haha Murph.  I hope we were posting at the same time.  However, both of our posts are EARLY in the morning (pre-coffee)!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs