AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 1 of 12 (355 Views)

constant slope

355 Views, 11 Replies
10-04-2012 08:31 AM

i am doing a notch & widen. i have 2 subassembles defining the lane from the centerline to the curb. when i have an alignment on the edge of pavement with a profile, the whole lane does not elevate. it only elevates the second subassem. i would like from the CL to the edge of pavement to "superelevate". instead, its like a broken lane. see picture for clarification. its not a constant slope from "CL" to "EOP". the slope is "broken" at "N".

 

thanks, 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,505
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 12 (345 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

On the construction tab "Parameter reference" of the assembly you can tell sub 1 to get cross slope from sub 2

 

parameter reference.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 3 of 12 (337 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

i see what your saying, and found where i need to change all of it, but cant get it to work. say the "left" subassem. is A and the "right" is B. which one do i need to tell to get the slope from? it seems even if i change one, two, or both it still doesnt want to change my cross slope in my sections. i am using lanesuperelevationAOR on one side, and a link on the other trying to get it to work.

 

thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,505
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 12 (329 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

You say you have a profile controling the sub at the EOP - is the target asigned in the corridor?

 

Lets confirm a naming convention here. working from the CL left:

 

The link is :A

The pavement is B

The curb and SW is : C

 I have only done this assigning A to B, but in theory it should work.  nope. I cannot get an assigment to the inside assembly. Sorry

 

If you want it to act as one, why two peices?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 5 of 12 (326 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

ok, thanks. because this is a notch and widening. we are cutting the existing road and then widening it. the existing road is "under" my link.

 

thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,505
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 12 (306 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

Thats what I thought you were doing, but if so how can you rotate back to the crown?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 7 of 12 (299 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

thats my problem. i cant get a constant slope out of two lane subassem. with a profile on the edge of pavement. it seems this is going to be difficult and im going to have to create yet another profile. maybe we are missing something. thanks for helping.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,505
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 12 (285 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

maybe we aren't on the the same page?

 

you say you are widening from the edge but want to rotate about the crown? that would require replacing to the crown, No?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 9 of 12 (278 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

we are widening the whole road. we cut the edge of the existing road off, and lay a couple inches of asphalt over the existing road to smooth out the whole process. since we are adding the couple inches to the centerline, its above the existing road. i would like to rotate the whole thing from the center out to the new edge of asphalt. the "link" in my assembly represents where the existing lane is. the new lane subassem. represents the widening. i have a profile grade at the edge of pavement because its not a constant slope. i am trying to have the whole lane, from centerline to edge of asphalt adjust to the profile along the edge of asphalt, but what happens is my "link" is staying at the defined slope. then, my widening lane adjusts to the profile, as seen in the picture. thats why it kind of looks like a "V". both subassem.'s are not "rotating" as one to the profile elevation at the edge of asphalt. let me know if this clears it up, or if you need another screen shot of something.

 

thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,505
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 12 (272 Views)

Re: constant slope

10-04-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

You know there are rehab assemblies for that, right?

 

I just did the very same thing. I prefer to use the OM&L2 and attach a lane suupe AOR and assign the cross slope from the OML2.

So instead of trying to develop a profile for all that to happen the OML2 takes care of it

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs