AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
cwrightbbvpc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 1 of 6 (653 Views)

cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

653 Views, 5 Replies
01-09-2012 02:00 PM

Working in 2012 dwg. When I export to autocad 2010, only one cogo point is converted to a block and shows up in the drawing.

New Member
jzivoder
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2010
Message 2 of 6 (618 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Yes, I am having the same issue.  Using Civil 2010, exporting to ACAD 2007.  It worked for me one time, where it converted all cogo points to blocks.  99 other times it is converting either just one point, or none at all.  The one time it did work, I do not recall doing anything different. 

New Member
jzivoder
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (611 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: jzivoder

Ok, well its not an official fix by any means, but before I exported the drawing, I did and audit and a purge command (didn't actually purge anything), then saved it. It worked.. 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,780
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 6 (606 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Another option would be to do it manually before the export. On the ribbon under points it's Create Blocks from COGO Points. On the command line it's _AeccConvertPointsToSdskPoints. This creates point blocks without replacing the Civil 3D points.

 

Allen

Member
cwrightbbvpc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 5 of 6 (598 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

The issue with that is we use point styles and point labels to show the necessary information in the drawing such as symbols and elevations. The procedure that seems to work all the time is wblocking the dwg, exploding the features and then exporting to an earlier version.  Can anyone tell me if this would create a problem down the road?

*Expert Elite*
LeafRiders
Posts: 315
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 6 of 6 (425 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

10-25-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Creating a block from COGO point command doesn't work as it should. It should take the exact point style and label style and create a block that is named. On this end I get some random looking block with point number, description and elevation with nothing but a node showing for the point itself.

 

I find that I need to explode all cogo points to create blocks (with a U# block name). Copy all and save to a new drawing.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs