AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 423
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 1 of 6 (1,010 Views)

catchment area

1010 Views, 5 Replies
02-07-2011 08:44 AM

is the catchment area tool like the water drop tool except backwards? if i pick a point on my suface i would think it would give me the area that's flowing to it, like a watershed. it does this somewhat but it's not giving me what i think should be an acurate pline around the area. when i pick a point it should cover the whole side of a hill but it gives just a small area. i've picked a lot of places on the hill but the results are the same. i can't find any settings to maybe tweak the output.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2012 SP3.0
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,004 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 09:02 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

I'd look at the triangles of the surface to see if there are any flat spots that are causing the catchment tool to not make it up the hill. Maybe put a slope label on the triangle to see if it's flowing the correct direction towards the low point.

 

Christopher

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 423
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 3 of 6 (1,002 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 09:12 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

i'm sure there a bunch of flat spots. it's quite a large site and the contours are derived from contour polylines. i was hoping there was a setting somewhere. i'm trying to find the top of the basin that's draining to our road. i just used the waterdrop tool and defined the ridge that way. my computer isn't powerful enough to use the watershed surface display. thanks anyway.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2012 SP3.0
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,901
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 6 (960 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-07-2011 07:30 PM in reply to: nostupidquestions

If you review the user assistance, it is recommended that you use the water drop together with the catchment area to define the overall area.  



Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
ICP
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 6 (943 Views)

Re: catchment area

02-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Turn on the flow arrows of your surface to review the catchments area; if your surface definition has any vaugaries in it the catchments will pick them up. As Matt mentioned the tool works in conjunction with the water drop.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (399 Views)

Re: catchment area

12-19-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

"If you review the user assistance, it is recommended that you use the water drop together with the catchment area to define the overall area. " 

 

For years, this has been a tedious and very unelegant workflow suggestion. It is sophmoric and crude...

 

We need better basin analysis tools that think like an engineer and can see the drainage basin picture. We need surface drainage tools that allow the engineer to quickly achieve the level of basin discretization that the engineer is needing to achieve for the situation.

 

Usually this is aggregating the surface slivers these C3D surface routines typically produce for us, and expanding outward like the OP suggested.

 

Back to the drawing board for C3D programming...quickly get a surface algorithmist on this who understands what we have been frustrated with for years...

Ernst Engineering
Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2014 SP1
W7x64; i7 8gb; Radeon HD 5700
www.ernstengineering.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs