AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 1 of 8 (219 Views)
Accepted Solution

alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

219 Views, 7 Replies
08-08-2012 11:30 AM

Can I inherit the station from one alignment as the begin station for another alignment?

 

For example. Alignment 1 is 1000 ft long and starts at sta 0+00.

At sta 8+01, Alignment 2 begins and goes off in another direction.

I manually enter 8+01 for begin station Alignment 2. Life is good.

 

Still in the design stage, and customer needs to modify Alignment 1 to avoid something.

Now Alignment 2 intersects Alignment 1 at sta 8+15, but same N/E coordinates.

I manually enter 8+15 for begin station Alignment 2.

Life is no longer good.

 

It would be better if Alignment 2 could inherit the begin station based on the new stationing from Alignment 1.

Any suggestions?

Product Support
Matt_Haokip
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 2 of 8 (177 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-10-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

Hi Lorrie,

 

I do not think it will be possible, since these alignments are independent entities and they could not be made intelligent to know where one starts and other ends.

 

Thanks,

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Matt Haokip
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 8 (170 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-10-2012 05:27 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

Instead of two alignments have you considered one and adding Station Equations?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,760
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 8 (161 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe:

 

Why have an equation, ending station and beginning are the same.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (155 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: wfberry

Hi Bill

 

I thought if he edits the first portion of the alignment then maintaining/ revising the beginning of part two would be a simpler task, I thought. Maybe not ? These are only thoughts. I never put into practice:smileyhappy:

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 05:03 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

I typically find that it works far better to have completely independent stationing for each Alignment, to avoid confusion.  for example, if your first Alignment is going from 1+00 to 30+00 (for example), a second Alignment that stubs off of that might use 100+00 to 110+00.  A third might use 200+00 to 250+00.

 

This approach completly removes any possibility of mixing up stationing during construction, and makes everything much clearer.  And there's no need to change stationing on your stubs should your main line change geometry.

Sinc
Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 7 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-13-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I don't know how (or if it is appropriate) to make 2 diverging alignments one single alignment.

Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 8 of 8 (104 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-13-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: Sinc

Thank you Sinc. I will use your protocol and move on.

 

Thank you all for the suggestions.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs