AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
-dcs-
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 1 of 6 (1,717 Views)

.adf Files

1717 Views, 5 Replies
08-09-2011 06:17 AM

I use C3D 2007.  I received a large number of files from the local government to incorporate into a presentation that my firm is putting together for a project.  They sent me orthos of the site that we are working on, except they are all adf files.  I've searched the forum and found some info about creating DEM out of them, using raster data connect, creating a surface and defining the adf file as a dem, etc.  I am having no luck getting these into something that I can use.  When I connect using raster data I get two error messages, "Fail to get image information" and "Failed to open FDO connection".  I understand that it's ArcGIS and understand what these files are, but how can I use them?  I only have one file in the bunch that's not an adf file, it's ovr, which from what I've read is an "overlay" file.  Any ideas?  Do I need to get them to convert it to something else?  Has anyone ever heard of and image that's a shape file?

 

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 6 (1,699 Views)

Re: .adf Files

08-09-2011 09:47 AM in reply to: -dcs-

These packages have a collection of files, the largest ADF contains the data.  They are in lat/long so they must be projected to your current state plane drawing.  I believe newer versions of Civil3D may handle these.

 

For your C3D 2007, take a look at MapWorks Surfaces which will import the ADF files.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,920
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,697 Views)

Re: .adf Files

08-09-2011 09:52 AM in reply to: -dcs-

The adf format is a group of files that need to be in their own folder, if you have mulitple adf files that make up mulitple grid/rasters then you need to seperate the files into their own folders each folder/direcory containing the files that make up that grid raster.

Sounds to me like you saved all the files into one folder or who ever sent them to you placed them all in one folder. Can you post a screen shot of the files names?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
-dcs-
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 4 of 6 (1,668 Views)

Re: .adf Files

08-18-2011 10:27 AM in reply to: Murph

Well, I was able to find a work around.  I used nconemap to pull the orthos and was able to use these just fine.  Unfortunately the files that I was sent are newer images, so it'd be nice to be able use those.  Attached is a document file that contains images of the file structure and names.

 

Main file labeled clip_2009

clip_2009.JPG

subfolder labeled clip_2009

clip_2009--clip_2009.JPG

Subfolder labeled clip_2009c1

clip_2009--clip_2009c1.JPG

subfolder labeled clip_2009c2

clip_2009--clip_2009c2.JPG

last file clip_2009c3

clip_2009--clip_2009c3.JPG

Thoughts?  I did try to isolate only the largest files and use them but still received the same message as stated in my orig. post.  Thanks guys. 

 

*ADD - I do know that three of those subfolders represents an individual grid and the ortho assigned to it...the subfolder clip_2009 with 4 files, I don't have a clue.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,920
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (1,652 Views)

Re: .adf Files

08-18-2011 03:25 PM in reply to: -dcs-

I can't recall if 2007 version could use the adf format. However all you should need to do is use data connect and select the Raster/surface provider and then browse to the files and select the w001000.adf file as long as the rest of the files are in that folder.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
-dcs-
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 6 of 6 (1,639 Views)

Re: .adf Files

08-19-2011 12:49 PM in reply to: Murph

Tried selecting only the single file and still received the message.  I suppose that 2007 can't use the adf format...-sigh-  Thanks anyways.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs