AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
pserpas
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,437 Views)
Accepted Solution

XREFs will not display

1437 Views, 7 Replies
09-13-2011 05:42 AM

Many times when I try to attach a xref and do a zoom extents, I cannot find the drawing.  I change my limits to -999999,-999999 and 999999,999999 but still nothing.  This seems to be a random problem.

 

Pat

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia GeForce GTS 450
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2310 @ 2.90 GHz
v. F.107.0.0 AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 SP1
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 2 of 8 (1,409 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

09-13-2011 10:34 AM in reply to: pserpas

Two things I can think of:

 

Check to make sure your XREF is on the zero Layer or

 

Type Options, and under the display tab, turn your XREF fade control to -90.

 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,962
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 8 (1,404 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

09-13-2011 10:44 AM in reply to: pserpas

If you have drawing A with C3D objects in it (such as a Surface), you then open drawing B and Xref A as on overlay. Now add some surface labels for the xref'ed surface in A. If you now try to Xref B into a drawing C, you will have broken labels sinc ethe overlay'ed drawing A is not available for the Labels in B to update from....make sense? So now in C you will have these "broken reference" labels all at 0,0, and if the drawings themselves are at normal State Plane coordinates of say 300,000/1,000,000 then a zoom extents will not appear to display anything since these objects will be too small to see. Try selecting with a crossing selection near 0,0 and you will likely find the culprit.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Message 4 of 8 (1,059 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

01-04-2013 10:16 AM in reply to: pserpas

I do have the same trouble. I have a drawing "A" with limits 0,0 to 36,24. I am trying to attach this drawing to a layout of dwg "B". I can see it in reference diaglog box, but I dont find it in layout. I checked all other options like layer on, fade -90, everything is ok. I did quickselect xref and It is selecting the ref "A" with a grip point at 0,0. But I dont see it.

 

However, I had xrefed again in model. I find it attached at different location coordinates -2960277.4188,-13825882.14. But the insertion point in properties shows me 0,0,0 and scale as 1.0.

 

Can anyone suggest me how to correct this bug?

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 8 (1,054 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

01-04-2013 10:38 AM in reply to: bdevineni

Welcome to the forums.

 

You're generally better off starting a new thread than adding to an old one with a new question.  I don't think your problem is related.  You can't x-ref a drawing into a layout, paperspace, as far as I know.  Try inserting it as a block instead.

I don't quite follow the problem you had with x-reffing into model.  Let me ask you: is drawing A drawn in model or paper?  You can only x-ref what is in the model space.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Message 6 of 8 (1,045 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

01-04-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: troma

Actually we can xref a drawing A (which is drawn in model) to paperspace of dwg B. I always do that for titleblock.

 

The drawing which I draw is in model space with limits 0,0 and 36,24. When I xref it in dwg B - it is not inserting at 0,0. It is inserting at -2960277.4188,-13825882.14. which is far away. I units are matched, which is feet (both dwgs). I dont know why it is not inserting at 0,0.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,496
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 8 (1,044 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

01-04-2013 11:51 AM in reply to: troma

Yes you can. I do it all the time for key maps.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 8 (1,040 Views)

Re: XREFs will not display

01-04-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Well there you go, always something new!


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs