AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
yasin2ray
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 1 of 5 (429 Views)

XML Point File error message

429 Views, 4 Replies
03-07-2012 10:55 AM

I'm trying to create a surface using a point file I received from the surveyors. It is an XML file (name.xml). I have successfully created a surface before on a different project using the same method. This time I get this error message when I try to add the point file:

 

"Error parsing value in line 1: Value: <?xml version="1.0"?>"

 

I opened the xml file and found the first line is indeed that value (<?xml version="1.0"?>).

 

I think an xml file is not PNEZ, comma delimited, space delimited or anything like that, so I selected the category "any Autocad uploadable file".

 

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong, or if this is from a problem with the xml file itself? I don't want to ask for a new file from the surveyors if it's my error, not theirs!

 

I've attached a screenshot of the XML file so you can see what it looks like.

 

Thanks,

Anna

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (427 Views)

Re: XML Point File error message

03-07-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: yasin2ray

For xml files you don't use the Import points command.  Instead use the Import LandXML data command from the File menu.

Active Contributor
yasin2ray
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 3 of 5 (421 Views)

Re: XML Point File error message

03-07-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: sboon

Ok, Steve, I was able to load the data as a Survey using the LandXML function. Thanks! But now what do I do???

 

I guess the last time I was not using an XML file. It must have been a point file. I don't know where to go from here to make a surface.

 

Anna

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 4 of 5 (412 Views)

Re: XML Point File error message

03-07-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: yasin2ray

yasin2ray wrote:

Ok, Steve, I was able to load the data as a Survey using the LandXML function. Thanks! But now what do I do???

 

I guess the last time I was not using an XML file. It must have been a point file. I don't know where to go from here to make a surface.

 

Anna


Well, the points should be in your drawing or the survey database if you did the import correctly.  On the surface definition, pick the All_Points group as a point group and you have a surface directly from all the points. If you don't want all the points to be used, create your own point group (I call mine Surface Points) and remove any points you don't want as part of the surface from that point group.

 

If you don't know how to create a surface, I suggest looking at the tutorials.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 5 (406 Views)

Re: XML Point File error message

03-07-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: yasin2ray

You have loaded the data into the Survey database but probably not into your drawing.  The command that I was suggesting is this one - which will create cogo points for you.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs