AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 9 (738 Views)

Workspace in 2014 won't save.

738 Views, 8 Replies
06-18-2013 09:06 AM

I've recently installed Civil 3D 2014 as part of IDSP 2014. I've been trying to customize the display but each time it opens with no ribbon.

 

I have created a specific profile and added it to the startup icon. I save the default Civil 3D workspace under a new name and make sure that "Automatically save workspace changes is checked". Each time I start Civil 3D 2014 there is no ribbon displayed and the Workspace I created is gone.

 

I've tried creating a new CUIX file and transferring the workspace to that. After I start C3D I transfer the workspace back to the original CUIX. But I then get a screen that looks pretty much like the basic OOTB Civil 3D, not how I had set it up. I've also tried to add the workspace to the start icon with no luck.

 

I can tell the program is trying to save the workspace changes because the date on the CUIX file indicates it's just been updated. But it never makes it back in to the program.

 

Allen Jessup


Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400, Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit,12 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 4600

*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 9 (732 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

By chance did you migrate from R2013? I believe it has copied the Civil3d cui file (and probably more) from 2013 to 2014.

 

I have had this same issue, I perform a reset (via the registry & deleting the folders then restarted. Then all is as expected.

 

Close and re migrate but don't select the menu files this time. run civils and import any customisations through the cui dialogues.

 

EDIT: Oh the other thing I found was that after installation (by others) the customisation locations seemed to have been set up without the ability to edit the folders or contents. (ie pipe network catalogues, cui & lin files etc.

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 9 (722 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 09:54 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Are you certain all partial CUIx's are being found?  If one or more are considered "missing" that could be considered a change, therefore the new state is saved.  And, of course, the stupid questions: is the workspace in the Enterprise or Main, and is there a workspace argument at start-up?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 9 (715 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 10:42 AM in reply to: mikeevans

mikeevans wrote:

By chance did you migrate from R2013?


No. We are coming up from 2012 and I didn't use any migration. You did give me an idea. I overwrote the C3D.cuix with the original from the deployment. It still doesn't save the workspace. But once I transfer the workspace from the file I created. It restores most of my settings.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 9 (716 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: dgorsman

dgorsman wrote:

Are you certain all partial CUIx's are being found?


It looks like they are. They all appear in the CUI editor with the correct paths. Do you have any trick to test that?

This is the Main CUI. We don't use an Enterprise. I did add the workspace to the start icon.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 9 (703 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 11:25 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Under the list of partial customization files in the CUIx editor, it will list "(Unresolved)" next to those CUIx files it can't find (for example, it normally shows "(read-only)" next to partials of the Enterprise).  Additionally, under the Workspace Contents panel Ribbon tabs may show "Unresolved" when they are dependant on CUIx content they can't find.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 9 (694 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: dgorsman

They all look good. I havn't tried adding in any 3rd party again.

 

xf.PNG

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 9 (689 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

There must be some setting to have 2014 restore files from the cache of something. I watched the CUIX file get updated while I was opening 2014. I can set things up and backup the CUIX. Then after the program starts overwrite the CUIX with the backup and set my workspace current. All is as I want it. Next time I start 2014 the workspace is missing again.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 9 (683 Views)

Re: Workspace in 2014 won't save.

06-18-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I had used THIS while diagnosing another problem. I thought in might be the cause of this problem and deleted the shortcut. That didn't make a difference.

 

I have found a workaround. If I make a copy of the C3D.cuix in a subfolder and point to  it as the Main Customization File. That won't get overwritten. But I don't want to have to do that for each installation. So now I need to figure out why the CUI in the Support folder is being overwritten each time 2014 opens.

 

Allen Jessup

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs