AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
mrenn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Message 1 of 5 (270 Views)
Accepted Solution

Working with imported shape files

270 Views, 4 Replies
09-12-2013 10:19 AM

Hi,

I'm new to working with GIS data imported into Civil 3d as shape files.  I'm working on setting up base drawings for a new project area and I have a lot of data displayed as polygons with attributes.  This is nice but I would like to be able to copy these to polylines on layers that I can have a little more freedom to work with.  For example the polygon boundaries are not exactly the boundaries that I need to show and editing the borders would be nice.  Is there a better alternative to tracing the polygon boundaries?  I have noticed when I extract feature geometry for linestrings I get a polyIine I can use but the polygons' extracted geometry is a Mpolygon with solid fill.

 

Does anyone know of a good overview for checking out and editing these features?  I'm interested in knowing what capabilities one has. 

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 5 (262 Views)

Re: Working with imported shape files

09-12-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: mrenn

When you _MAPIMPORT the shapefile, ensure you flagged the "Import polygons as closed polylines" check box, sir.

New Member
mrenn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Message 3 of 5 (253 Views)

Re: Working with imported shape files

09-12-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks, I had used the data connect under the planning and analysis workspace to import the shape files.  I see that the MAPCONNECT command brings in a simpler set of polylines to work with.

 

Is there a method of selecting parts of a shape file to display without having to delete the data? I.E. I want to disply 65 of 100 property boundaries in a shape file.  I tried deleting the polygons in modelspace but that seems to delete the data and now they aren't coming in when I try to import them again in another drawing. 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 5 (245 Views)

Re: Working with imported shape files

09-12-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: mrenn

If the spatial filter (upper right corner of Mapimport GUI) is too poor, you should perform a "draw query" to display only the chosen parcels.


Please press F1 and learn all about the _ADEDRAWINGS and _ADEQUERY commands.

Active Member
Tdark
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2013
Message 5 of 5 (178 Views)

Re: Working with imported shape files

11-12-2013 02:55 PM in reply to: mrenn

If you're using MAPCONNECT and the Data Connect tool palette then you should "Add to Map with Query" and you can restrict the shape data that comes in using many different methods.

 

Be careful using the Data Connect tool as the linework that comes in will be slightly distorted in it's spatial location as well as scale factor.  I have no solution for this as of yet.  Using _MAPIMPORT does not have these issues.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs