AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 1 of 7 (169 Views)

White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

169 Views, 6 Replies
12-20-2013 09:16 AM

PLEASE, how do I turn this off?  i am creating contours in civil 3d, exporttoautocad2010, and there is this white box under the contour label, i don't want this, i DO want it to trim the contour to show the text better but NOT the white box, please advise

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 7 (161 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: wings1080
sounds like background mask is turned on for the labels
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 3 of 7 (159 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 09:32 AM in reply to: neilyj

it is turned on because if i turn it off it doesnt trim the contour and looks just as bad ... how to have it still trim the contour without the white box?!

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: wings1080

You cannot trim a contour, only hide it under another object.  You should be able to change the colour of the label mask however to something that's easier to look at.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: wings1080
Select a contour label, and in the properties palette you can switch the "Masking" setting to " Contour line only".

However, it seems to take a while to process. I originally heard of this setting from reading comments from people complaining about how glitchy it is, so be careful!


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 7 (109 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: sboon
Steve, how do I change the colour of the label mask?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 7 of 7 (101 Views)

Re: White Box Under Contour Label!!!!

12-20-2013 02:14 PM in reply to: troma

If I remember correctly the background color of the label comes from your current screen background at the time the style was created or changed.  I believe that this issue comes from importing a style from a drawing where the background color was different than your current one - don't quote me on this, I might be entirely wrong.

 

Try changing the modelspace background color then change it back and see if that has any effect.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs