AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
Iceberg71
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-24-2013
Message 1 of 12 (255 Views)

Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

255 Views, 11 Replies
10-16-2013 11:18 AM
  1. I am looking for some general feedback on where the majority of people annotate there drawings. I was in a CAD meeting discussing our new CAD standards that we will be rolling out on Jan 1, 2014. A major improvement I recommended to the plans was to place our annotations in our XREF drawings instead of placing them in model space of our sheet sets. (Our sheet sets are our drawings that have our titlblocks that we plot from ). I was vehemently opposed on this topic to the point when the meeting was over I was walking out of the meeting shaking like I had committed some kind of sin.So, I am asking where do the majority of CAD users like toadd annotations to there drawings? PaperSpace, model space, xref’s, etc. and why they do it that way?

    I should also state that we are transitioning from 2012 software to Civil3d 2014 software too.

    Thank you for any and all feedback. It is appreciated. 
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,694
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 12 (251 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 11:33 AM in reply to: Iceberg71

In modelspace in the sheet set version of the drawings as I find it gives the most flexibility e.g. labelling contours through an XREF, I can choose where to locate the labels so they don't interfere with anything else. I very rarely label in paperspace apart from, say, a one off drawing or something.

 

If the labels are in the XREF'd drawings then inevitably there will be overlapping and/or illegible text, and the XREF needs to be opened, edited and resaved (I wouldn't touch editing Xref in place as it can be a bit problematic) to sort out the problem

 

Don't know (or care) if it's bad CAD practice but it works for me and I don't get any complaints about my deliverables....:smileywink:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 12 (235 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 11:52 AM in reply to: Iceberg71

I'm with Neil. Although we often place generic notes in paperspace in the production drawings, but any plan specific annotation is placed in modelspace of the production dwg. The exception to this is the existing conditions (topo) drawing which holds all of the existing annotation.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 4 of 12 (219 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Model space of the sheet set, except Leadered text, I have yet to find a way to have it rotate correctly in model space.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Member
sdl051
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-08-2013
Message 5 of 12 (198 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: dmartin

I agree with neilyj above. Model space is where I place it. Except for the one off paper space should be restricted and I restrict my usage of ncopy of any xref text that I need to minipulate.

 

The goal is to only update data entered once and have all sheets and view ports update easliy. With the progress of C3D Live update these tools will become more automated.

 

Just stress model space and work out a work flow, layer/color system that allows the dead text to stand out. So the updates are not missed in paper or ncopied text.

 

Setup a Text style(s) with your prefered naming convention and try to use basic text like "Arial". Arial has many benefits because of it's wide use I can not remember all of them. Using the traditional LEROY method set the Paper Text Height to 0.08 . Now your annotative size will update with a proper LEROY size per Viewport scale. Esri Leroy reference

For the Mleader users if you need to rotate the text try to use the properties tool bar while the active scale or viewport is active.

 

For new annotative user reference - http://youtu.be/GJ4M38g1K7E

Active Member
Iceberg71
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-24-2013
Message 6 of 12 (193 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 01:38 PM in reply to: Iceberg71

I have always placed text in my xref but it seems like acroos mulitple forums that everyone including using C3D are labeling everything in there sheet drawing (or plotting drawings with there titleblocks).

 

Guess its time to update my 15 years of thinking. :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 513
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 7 of 12 (186 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 01:48 PM in reply to: Iceberg71

I have to concur with the others, model space of the production drawings. Since the majority of labels are handeled through C3D, are annotative in nature, dynamic, etc. the hassle of any annotation interfering with something else is eliminated. The ability to label an xref also helps with labeling contours of existing surfaces in our roadway P&P sheets. Before C3D, I used to label xrefs, and moving text to suit the sheet was always a PITA. I'd never to back to that method.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 12 (156 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 02:58 PM in reply to: dmartin
set your UCS to view prior to leader placement
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
Iceberg71
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-24-2013
Message 9 of 12 (147 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: Iceberg71
How does this work with multiple layout tabs? One drawing has you grading, utility, landscaping and soil erosion text in one plan all seperated by layout tabs. Seems like a lot of text to have to manipulated in one shot.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 12 (141 Views)

Re: Where do you annotate your drawings in C3D?

10-16-2013 04:08 PM in reply to: Iceberg71
c3d anno in ms and miscanno in PS. I go with the SSM paradigm and utilize enumerated views and view callouts
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs