AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Message 1 of 7 (134 Views)

What is the benefit of using corridors?

134 Views, 6 Replies
11-12-2013 12:19 PM

OK, I'm still pretty new to Civil 3D and quite frankly to the world of civil engineering in general (graduated college less than a year ago) so I realize I may sound kind of silly (maybe like a caveman asking modern folks why they would want to use silverware) in asking a question that probably has a rather obvious answer to some...but what is the benefit of using corridors rather than simply using all of the things that go into a corridor--alignments, surfaces, profiles, sections, assemblies (which I don't understand yet either)--independently?

 

Is it just for design visualization? Does it have any benefit for developing construction plans?

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,475
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 7 (129 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

because all the objects you mention work together to make the dynamic model from which volumes can be computed, surfaces can be derived for final surface and earthworks outline (formation), sections can be cut and plans produced.

 

PS welcome to the wonderful and occasionally frustrating world of civil 3d.....:smileywink:

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Message 3 of 7 (124 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: neilyj

Thanks for the reply.

 

What I don't get though...is that you still need to develop all of those individual components on their own before you create the corridor, right? And then if you were to update the corridor, you would still be updating things sort of "one dimension at a time," right?

 

(I'm not trying to actually argue that corridors are pointless, I'm just asking these questions to understand).

 

Could you give an example of something that you could do that would only take one step with corridors that would take two or three steps without corridors?

Valued Mentor
Posts: 305
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 12:49 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

Cant generate surfaces with only the components (at least not easily). The corridor makes it easy to gen surfaces and volumes.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎07-28-2009
Message 5 of 7 (112 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 01:01 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

In your list of things that go in a corridor you list alignments, profiles, and things that are used to create a corridor, but you also listed sections.  Sections are the output from a corridor, they are not used to create a corridor.  The corridor creates the sections. 

 

Now for something that's easy to do with corridors but very hard without, think of daylight lines.  The corridor calculates and generates all the daylight lines automatically and very quickly.  If I want to change a slope for some reason- let's say that in a particular region I have limited RW, and I have an approved deviation to use a steeper slope than normal- I can create a new region, copy and modify my road assembly, and rebuild the corridor.  Now I'll see the new daylight lines.

 

Or I could use the section editor and quickly step through and modify the daylight slope myself if it's only a few sections affected. 

 

But to calculate, by hand, the new daylight slope intercepts, then draw it myself would take far longer and would introduce the chance for error by miscalculating. 

 

Now for an even bigger example, imagine I've discovered that I can lower my road profile to improve sight distance over a vertical curve.  I grip-edit the proposed profile.  Done.  I've previously set the corridor and FG surfaces to automatically rebuild, and as soon as I'm done I have new cross-sections, new cut/fill volumes, new daylight lines, and all calculated automatically for me.

 

If I was to have to calculate the new cut/fill volumes by hand, I'd be spending far longer and would probably introduce calculation errors. 

 

That ability to push, pull, adjust, change, and experiment with my corridor is golden because I can see in real time what the effects are, and what their impacts are on my project with respect to all the physical constraints: right-of-way availability, utilities, existing structures, and so on.

Win 7E 64-bit, Intel i7, 12 GB
C3D 2012
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,475
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 7 (103 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: jeff_rivers
...and of course any sheet sets that referenced the corridors would be updated as well.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 7 (66 Views)

Re: What is the benefit of using corridors?

11-12-2013 02:51 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin
Welcome.

The road design process kinda starts with a typical section, right?

* alignments: your typical section is governed by that horizontaly
* surfaces: you can get one without a typical section but good luck revising it.
* profiles: your typical section is governed by that vertically
*sections: you can draw them by hand but wouldn't you rather have your typical section in it
* Assemblies: they are the building blocks of your typical section

whatch the getting started videos on your startup screen it should seal the deal
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs