AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
907Trekker
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 1 of 5 (277 Views)

Weed / Sort Points

277 Views, 4 Replies
07-09-2012 07:13 PM

I have a group of COGO points that is tightly spaced, say approx. 2 feet between points and I want to weed them out so that several points in an area are deleted and I am left with approx. 10 feet between points.

 

Can this be done in Civil 3d?  I don't want to interpolate points from a surface.

 

If anybody is familiar with Hypack software, I am trying to do a 10' sort but in C3D.

 

Thanks,
Mark

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 5 (261 Views)

Re: Weed / Sort Points

07-10-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: 907Trekker

I don't know how to do that but if you can explain why you want to do that. There may be alternatives.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 5 (254 Views)

Re: Weed / Sort Points

07-10-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: 907Trekker

I don't know of any automatic method.

 

You could build a surface with the points, simplify the surface, display it with points only (points set to mode 0 so they look like a dot), explode it twice, use select similar to select all of the resulting autocad points, copy/paste them to a new dig and convert them.

 

It sounds convoluted but it is a pretty short process.

 

You would of course lose any descriptions...

 

 

 

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (249 Views)

Re: Weed / Sort Points

07-10-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: 907Trekker

I would also wonder if Map can help weeding cogo points but I don't think it works well with C3D objects...

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
Maine-iac
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Message 5 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: Weed / Sort Points

07-10-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: 907Trekker

Could you give every fifth point a different descriptor by editing the point file in a spread sheet, then reimport, and limit your point displays and/or your surface build by creating a point group with those selected new descriptors?

Civil 3D 2011
Windows 7 Prof. x64
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel(R) Xenon(R) CPU
W3550 @ 3.07GHz
6.00 GB RAM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs