AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 459
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 6 (261 Views)

Vertical Profiles - Please help!

261 Views, 5 Replies
04-27-2011 03:10 PM

Hi all,

Using Civil 3D 2010, I have a vertical profile with a grade break tagging the station and elevation.  To avoid overlapping other text, I dragged it to below with a leader.  (see Part 1.pdf)  This profile is in model space in world coordiantes.  If I either x-ref this drawings into my output sheet, or just even switch to paper space in the current drawing, and make a viewport, my text returns to the original location.  (see Part 2.pdf).   Switch back to model space and it is back horizontal.  What gives?

 

Thanks.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-27-2011 05:04 PM in reply to: trynders
 
John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,949
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 6 (227 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-27-2011 05:51 PM in reply to: jmayo

Dontcha just love that new IE9?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (185 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 06:06 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Ahh, not yet. Perhaps I overlooked a setting for the invisible fonts in IE9. :smileyhappy:

 

I did ask the OP to see if the styles were the same in both dwg's. I wouldn't expect this to be an issue but I would start my debugging process there especially after seeing your response to his other  question about profile labels.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Mentor
Posts: 459
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 07:41 AM in reply to: jmayo

I fould the problem yesterday.  I edited my label style and changed under the general tab one of the plan readability values.  I was going to look for it today to let you all know what it was, but now when i change values in there, I cant seem to make it mess up.  Maybe C3D needed a nap last night.  Anyway, Whats the talk about IE9?  I also have C3D2011 and have been told that 2011 is more stable.  Agree?

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,949
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 6 (153 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 08:51 AM in reply to: trynders

IE9 has problems posting to the forums, which is why John's first reply to you was blank.

 

For me, 2011 had more issues than I cared to deal with so have remained on 2010 until recently when I moved one of my projects to 2012. So far I haven't experienced anything to stop me from using 2012, other than backwards compatability. 2010, for me, has been a fairly reliable and stable product, more so since I started using a 64 bit OS (first Vista, now Win7).

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs