AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
ShawnMcCorkle1211
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 1 of 6 (947 Views)
Accepted Solution

Vertical Curve "r" Value

947 Views, 5 Replies
06-21-2013 10:05 AM

I need to add the "r" value to the vertical curve labels in the profile (|G2-G1| / L).

Is there a way to add this property to the text component editor?  I see a lot of different components listed, but no "r" value.

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,663
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 6 (942 Views)

Re: Vertical Curve "r" Value

06-21-2013 10:31 AM in reply to: ShawnMcCorkle1211
k value?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 310
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 3 of 6 (933 Views)

Re: Vertical Curve "r" Value

06-21-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: neilyj

The 'r' value (rate of change of curve) is inverse to the K value. r=1/K.

 

You will probably need to make an expression to show this value.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Contributor
ShawnMcCorkle1211
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 4 of 6 (926 Views)

Re: Vertical Curve "r" Value

06-21-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: ccoles

I thought that I could manipulate it that way, but wasn't sure how to add an expression.

Can someone walk me through how to add the expression to the components?

 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,066
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 6 (901 Views)

Re: Vertical Curve "r" Value

06-21-2013 07:17 PM in reply to: ShawnMcCorkle1211

The expression you build will become part of a label.  Start by expanding the Settings group for the type of label that you intend to use the expression with - profile curves in this case.  Right click on the Expressions option, and start a new one.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

Once you have an expression built it will available in the dropdown list that you can insert into a label style, just like the built in parameters.

 

Clipboard02.png

 


ShawnMcCorkle1211 wrote:

I thought that I could manipulate it that way, but wasn't sure how to add an expression.

Can someone walk me through how to add the expression to the components?

 




Contributor
ShawnMcCorkle1211
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 6 of 6 (883 Views)

Re: Vertical Curve "r" Value

06-22-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: sboon

Thanks for the help.  That worked perfectly.

 

For some reason the Expression Option was not present. After repeated closing and restarting C3D, it finally appeared.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs