AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 1 of 8 (629 Views)
Accepted Solution

Vanilla Autocad and C3D

629 Views, 7 Replies
08-28-2013 11:17 AM

C3D 2012, Win 7, 64 bit

 

I am working with sheet files that were created using vanilla autocad.  My references are created in C3D (alignments, contours, contour labels, slope labels, etc).

 

I open the sheet file in C3D, reference the C3D file, and all the label texts are tiny.  When I label the alignment using the station offset label, it gives me 4+16.67 instead of 50+00.

 

Personally I don't think a vanilla autocad file can do C3D things correctly (like label, bring in data shortcuts), but a coworker disagrees.  Can someone confirm this?

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 8 (627 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

08-28-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: yee-fan

We ran into this issue when we first staerted using C3D. The problem looks like your units settings are off. Check to make sure the units settings in the sheet files are not set to 'Architectural' and insertion units set to feet. The stationing difference between 4+16.67 and 50+00 is exactly 12, meaning Civil 3D is doing a conversion based on the units settings. We found the best way to avoid these problems is to set the units the same in Civil 3D and Vanilla ACAD templates.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 3 of 8 (610 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

08-28-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: ccoles

Nice!  Thank you.  The sheet files were set to inches.  Once I changed it to feet even the text size of the labels were fixed.  Whew, we won't need to redo all the sheet files to C3D.

Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 4 of 8 (530 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

09-04-2013 06:18 AM in reply to: yee-fan

Vanilla Autocad is a Subset of C3d.

 

therefore, Vanilla autocad will not and cannot cause an issue within C3d. (Unless it is 3rd party customization of a vanilla install-but then it wouldn't be vanilla any more)

 

That means that the solution will always come down to a setting. if the this had not been a units issue, it very likely could have been an issue of annotative scale if it were only your text sizes acting weirdly. In each case a setting.

 

NOW

 

Civil 3d drawing in Vanilla autocad. That is a bigger issue.

Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 5 of 8 (527 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

09-04-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: john.mckenzie

I should qualify that post by saying

 

AS LONG as there is not a VERSION issue. RE:

 

Vanilla 2014 and C3d 2012. then it won't open at all.

Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 6 of 8 (514 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

09-04-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: john.mckenzie

Thank you.  I just ran into something yesterday, where I tried to reference in a file with contours and labels.  The label size and location came in correctly, but I don't see any contours.

 

I also tried to shortcut the surface into the file to display the contours, but I don't see anything at all either. 

 

Any thoughts on why the contours are not displaying? 

Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 7 of 8 (508 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

09-04-2013 01:14 PM in reply to: yee-fan

Not sure exactly but many times this is the issue.

 

type

 

levelofdetailoff at the command line.

 

it is new and with it on it changes what is displayed based upon zoom. it can be a monster of a headache or a godsend depending upon your point of view (or size of file)

Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 8 of 8 (481 Views)

Re: Vanilla Autocad and C3D

09-11-2013 03:03 PM in reply to: john.mckenzie

Thanks.  I tried that but nothing changed. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs