AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
chris.pettigrew
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 1 of 15 (1,759 Views)

VIEWPORT TYPE

1759 Views, 14 Replies
04-16-2012 02:35 PM

Typically when setting up a viewport in paper space I can change the viewport type at the bottom of the properties dialog box. In 2013 the option is available, but it will always snap back to undefined. I'm sure it is a setting somewhere. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 15 (1,741 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-16-2012 07:48 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

Interesting...  I seem to be noticing the same problem.

 

Guess I need to explore this and try to figure it out, since I'm supposed to be doing some training later this week in how to create P&P sheets...  I hope nothing is broken in C3D 2013.  (Luckily, I think we'll be using C3D 2012, and not C3D 2013...)

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 15 (1,705 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: Sinc

I am having the same problem.  No soliution yet.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 15 (1,689 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 03:38 PM in reply to: mathewk

Kind of a bad problem...

 

I wouldn't be in a hurry to jump to C3D 2013 just yet.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 15 (1,685 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: Sinc

Interestingly, if you open a 2012 file with that viewport already set, it stays set.  However, you can't change it in 2013.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 15 (1,673 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 09:41 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

I've been able to duplicate the issue on my system as well.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 15 (1,670 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 10:05 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew
I submitted a case to support but I havbe yet to hear back. A fairly serious problem if you're setting up a layout for use with the section and plan production tools.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 8 of 15 (1,658 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-18-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

I just tried this also and get the same problem.

 

I think this has been the worst release since r13.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 9 of 15 (1,628 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-19-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: engrtech

Remember the initial release of 2007...?  :smileywink:

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 10 of 15 (1,609 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-19-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: chris.pettigrew
Found a workaround for this. There is a new property preview sysvar PROPERTYPREVIEW. Turn it off.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs