AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jhoff
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-15-2004
Message 11 of 19 (357 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

10-31-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: jhoff

That worked.  Thank you! 

Active Member
Kumquat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-24-2012
Message 12 of 19 (253 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

10-20-2013 01:21 PM in reply to: david.zavislan

Hi David,

 

This is a very useful tip.

 

I am fairly new to Civil 3D.

I download the NV5SimpleSlopeAlowsNegative.pkt source file.

 

I imported the file to my tool Palettes.

Is this file replaced LinkSlopeToSurface?

 

I reconstructed my assembly.  I still couldn't get it to work.

 

Thanks

Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 13 of 19 (233 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

10-21-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: Kumquat

This does not replace any stock subassemblies.  You import it into your tool palette and add it to your assembly like any of the other subassemblies. 

 

It only has parameters for side, cut slope, and fill slope.  The slope parameters will allow negative values.  This lets your model daylight up in fill situations, and down in cut.  You just need to make sure that the slope values are flatter than the target grade so that they will have a chance to catch.

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Active Member
Kumquat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-24-2012
Message 14 of 19 (210 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

10-21-2013 10:04 PM in reply to: david.zavislan
Thanks David.

Saw it YouTube, assembly composer. Pretty straight forward.
Member
ddachille10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2014
Message 15 of 19 (74 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

06-25-2014 01:21 PM in reply to: david.zavislan
I am curious if there are any version limitations with the "NV5SimpleSlopeAlowsNegative.pkt" that you created. This worked well for me in 2014 but will not work in 2011
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,420
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 16 of 19 (66 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

06-25-2014 01:38 PM in reply to: ddachille10

ddachille10 wrote:
I am curious if there are any version limitations with the "NV5SimpleSlopeAlowsNegative.pkt" that you created. This worked well for me in 2014 but will not work in 2011

Try downloading the pkt file again and then import the latest download directly into 2011.  Once a pkt file has been opened in any newer version 2014, it can't be used in previous versions.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Member
ddachille10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2014
Message 17 of 19 (61 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

06-25-2014 01:55 PM in reply to: doni49
I gave that a shot, but unfortunately I am still receiving the same error. "One or more subassembly .NET classes could not be found. Check Event Viewer for more information. Continue?". Any thoughts on that error message?

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,420
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 18 of 19 (54 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

06-25-2014 02:21 PM in reply to: ddachille10
Oh yeah. You're talking about C3D 2011. That was the first version in which you could add a custom sub assembly (that's what the pkt file is). Sub assembly didn't come with C3D you had to download and install it.

So check to see if you have sub assembly composer 2011 installed. Install it if not.
Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Member
ddachille10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2014
Message 19 of 19 (45 Views)

Re: Using negative cut slope

06-25-2014 03:54 PM in reply to: doni49
Thank you very much doni49 ... installing the sub assembly composer 2011 was the answer

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs