AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 13 (362 Views)
Accepted Solution

Update Field isn't updating as expected

362 Views, 12 Replies
01-07-2013 12:58 AM

I have a field in a block and all the FIELDEVAL variables are set as shown in the screenshot but the field doesn't update on REGEN - I have to issue the UPDATEFIELD command to update the field.

 

There was a previous thread started in March 2011 with the same problem - is this another unresolved bug??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 13 (357 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:08 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

>> but the field doesn't update on REGEN

What field-type is it? If it's a save-date/time or plot-date/time then it would/should not update with a _REGEN.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 13 (353 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:15 AM in reply to: neilyj

That was my initial thought but It's just a simple DATE field

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 13 (348 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:23 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

and how did you get it now to "2013"? Have you defined it new or saved or what happend? In the last screenshot it was 2012.

If you have the old drawing, can you delete all but this block and upload it so we can play with trying to update it (I can test it with Civil3D, Map3D, AutoCAD all 2013 if necessary).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 13 (349 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:25 AM in reply to: neilyj

I issued the UPDATEFIELD command and selected the block

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 13 (343 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:38 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

OK, I tried it in a new drawing and ... yes, same issue, a _REGEN does not update that "DATE" field (not with Civil3D 2013 SP1, not with AutoCAD 2013 SP1.1).

That brings me to the question: what does the field "DATE" represent, if it's not a save-time and not a plot-time ==> whatfor is it needed or whatfor is it designed?In the help I have not found it.

 

For me: now I know why I have not had that problem yet: because I never used it; I used SAVEDATE or PLOTDATE and they work without any issues (yet).

 

But sorry to have no solution for you, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 13 (337 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

Indeed - as it doesn't seem to update on open or save either - only manually after UPDATEFIELD.

 

I have raised a support case and will post the response when (if) I get one

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Valued Mentor
Posts: 306
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 8 of 13 (306 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

I'm guessing this is functioning as intended? As opposed to editing the date, issuing updatefield populates it with the current date.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,479
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 13 (303 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

It seems that this behaviour is indeed as intended - from Help

 

"...The Date field is updated by UPDATEFIELD, but it is not updated automatically based on the setting of the FIELDEVAL system variable..."

 

I only need to bother with this field update every January but another example of inconsistency in the workings of Civil 3D...??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Valued Mentor
Posts: 306
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 10 of 13 (296 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: neilyj

Ever use a diesel expression for date? See forum posting attached. It might be a serviceable workaround.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-LT/Inster-a-field-to-show-the-current-date/td-p/3356011/page/2

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs