AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
bcales
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-11-2005
Message 1 of 11 (2,501 Views)

Undo has been disabled...

2501 Views, 10 Replies
05-09-2012 01:07 PM

Undo has been disabled in order to prevent undo file overflow...

 

Is there anyway to increase the Undo capabilities.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 11 (2,478 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 05:17 PM in reply to: bcales
I've never seen this. How about saving and closing the drawing and reopening it?
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,066
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 11 (2,473 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 06:53 PM in reply to: mathewk

I've seen it fairly often, especially while doing a lot of corridor section edits.  I think that there's a way to turn off the undo function and then turn it back on again.  When you do that the program apparently starts a new file.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 11 (2,465 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: sboon

SBoon wrote:

... I think that there's a way to turn off the undo function and then turn it back on again. ...



Undo, Control, None or One

Undo, Control, All

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 5 of 11 (2,065 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

01-09-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: bcales

I have done this so many.....times today.  It doesn't work.  Software is Civil 3D 2013.  A couple of computers have the message "Warning! Undo has been disabled in order to prevent undo file overflow.  You may re-enable it via the undo command.  The undo file length was 1768915703 bytes".  I've been using the UNDO command since Release '08 & I've never seen this problem.  I have search & search & nothing seems to work....how do you control the length of the UNDO command.  I don't understand how UNDOCTL works cause it's read only.  Does anyone have a solution?

the best is at the beach!
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,066
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 11 (2,061 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

01-09-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: oceanside

Save - Shutdown - Restart the program.

Contributor
clevelandw
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 7 of 11 (1,006 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 09:51 AM in reply to: sboon
C'mon "Experts" stop just telling everyone to "Save and Restart" Obviously, there is an issue that needs to be resolved. Put that "Expert" title to use.. Geez!
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,085
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (1,001 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: clevelandw

clevelandw wrote:
C'mon "Experts" stop just telling everyone to "Save and Restart" Obviously, there is an issue that needs to be resolved. Put that "Expert" title to use.. Geez!

In their defense, I would say that the suggestions offered are the best known workaround(s). 

These guys are peers using the software like all of us, and do not have a hotline to the programmers / software architects.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 9 of 11 (993 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: clevelandw

Thanks for the "constructive" criticism, clevelandw, but I don't see any usable advice from you at all on this issue.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 11 (987 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: oceanside

For C3D2013 & 2014, perhaps THIS has something to do with the UNDO file filling up.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs