AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
cattjake
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 1 of 10 (304 Views)

Understanding Geographic Location

304 Views, 9 Replies
01-15-2014 05:15 AM

I am not grasping the concept of geographic location, could someone explain its implications?

 

Specificly, how does a defined geo location impact a drawing that has drawing settings defined corrdinate systems?

 

How does information behave when bringing it from drawing A (with a defined corrdinate system and geo location) into drawing B (same corrdinate system but no geo location)?

 

How does the geo location impact the mapimport of shapefiles from a known corrdinate system?

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 2 of 10 (288 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 06:35 AM in reply to: cattjake

A geographic location is a coordinate pair or coordinate triplet with some origin that typically attempts to describe your position on earth.

Generally it can be in form of x,y,z or latitude, longitude, and h.

 

To properly georeference a drawing, one should define a coordinate system for that drawing so that it can be referenced to the real world; otherwise it is simply a local coordinate system.

 

If drawing A and B share the same coordinate system but one of them is not defined, ArcGIS at the least, assumes they are the same. If they are, great. If not, one introduces issues.

 

In order to mapimport properly, one needs to know both the origin and destination coordinate systems to ensure a proper transformation. If importing shapefiles with a known coordinate system (that is defined in C3D), ensure your destination dwg is properly set to the desired coordinate system in which you are working and that the imported coordinate system is set correctly. The transformation engine then should theoretically import your shapefiles seamlessly.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Valued Contributor
cattjake
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 3 of 10 (284 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 06:38 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932
Thanks for the response.

If you have a drawing set to a known coordinate system, why must you also set the geographic location? Shouldn't the referenced coordinate system and your x,y,z within it place you in the correct location in the real world?
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 10 (269 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 07:53 AM in reply to: cattjake

I've never had to set my geographic location C3D to the best of my recollection. AutoCAD, yes. AutoCAD does not understand coordinate systems, only Map 3D and higher have that functionality.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Valued Contributor
cattjake
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 5 of 10 (264 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 07:56 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932
I also have never put a geo location into any of my drawings. But I received a C3D drawing from a surveyor with a geographic location. I am trying to understand how I need to take this into account when I incorporate the information with the geo location into all my construction drawings, which do NOT have a geo location.
Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 6 of 10 (256 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 09:18 AM in reply to: cattjake

Personally, I would just ignore the Geographic Location.  We had issues within our 2012 & 2013 template files which the geographic location would flip every time you opened the template.  From that point on I was told by autodesk to ignore it and turn off the view cube which is tied to the geographic location.  I was also told it has NO ties to the drawing coordinate system.  I was skeptical but haven't had any issues. Just my 2 cents.

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Valued Contributor
cattjake
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 7 of 10 (251 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 09:30 AM in reply to: cattjake

Can anyone confirm there is NO ties between corrdinate systems and geo location?

Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 8 of 10 (245 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 09:56 AM in reply to: cattjake

If you search for "view cube" or "geographic location" you'll get a bunch of results. Here's a link that explains it a little more, but isn't from Autodesk. http://totalcad.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/follow-up-on-feeling-a-little-skewed/

Keep in mind most of these are for versions older than 2014. Maybe things have changed but back then the Geographic location was said to be only tied to importing Google Earth images.  I will note that if you remove the geographic location, as shown in the link above, there have been some users who said their coordinate system was reset to a generic one automatically. I experienced this on a few occasions in which case I had to reset my drawing coordinate system after removing the geographic location.  That is why I say just ignore it all together. Don't remove it, don't change it, just ignore it :smileyhappy:.

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,935
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (208 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 03:56 PM in reply to: cattjake

cattjake wrote:
I also have never put a geo location into any of my drawings. But I received a C3D drawing from a surveyor with a geographic location. I am trying to understand how I need to take this into account when I incorporate the information with the geo location into all my construction drawings, which do NOT have a geo location.

The Geo Location is for users not using Civ 3D or Map 3D. The survor make of used it if they pass the dwg on to others (Architectural firm) or the survey may not be using a civ application and just AutoCAD. The intent was to allow those non-civil users a way to plot their dwgs on Google Earth or another coordinate defined map with out having to move, scale, rotate etc. 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 10 of 10 (201 Views)

Re: Understanding Geographic Location

01-15-2014 07:10 PM in reply to: n2itive

The geo location affects the display of the view cube: This is buggy in Civil 3D 2013. Sometimes the view cub diplays at a random odd angle, I just remove the geo location, and the view cube then displays correctly. This action has never removed my transformation settings.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs