Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble importing .csv file as "Points From File"

33 REPLIES 33
Message 1 of 34
langerhans
8951 Views, 33 Replies

Trouble importing .csv file as "Points From File"

I'm brand new to Civil 3D. Working on personal project and I did my own surveying of a slope. I'm trying to import a .csv file as Points From File. Just can't get it to work. I tried columns of PNEZ, NEZ, PNE (changing both the csv file and the import style); tried making all values the same number of digits and decimal points. Nothing works. Usually it says "Does not match selected point file" but sometimes it says "No point file match found" but sometimes it wil allow an import but then nothing appears in the drawing file.

Is there some special formatting I need to do to the CSV file in order to get it to import? Or am I missing something else?

I've watched half a dozen tutorials on creating surfaces (which is all I really need to do) and also tried manually creating points. I can create the points, but I can't get them to convert into a surface. Any pointers on how to create a surface would be appreciated. It's just my backyard, so it's not a complicated project.

Thanks

33 REPLIES 33
Message 2 of 34
Jay_B
in reply to: langerhans

I was able to import your file.

Insert Tab of Ribbon>Points From File>Specify Format>PNEZ (space delimited)>Click Plus button upper right>Change file type filter to csv  and import point file.

Zoom Extents after importing.

Once points are imported if I attempt to re-import I also get the message: "No point file match found"

Note: If there's a black dot to left of "Points" on Prospector tab of Toolspace then you have something else going on.

The black dot indicates points present in dwg which could be styles used etc.