Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tree Point style

24 REPLIES 24
Message 1 of 25
allywhite666
9213 Views, 24 Replies

Tree Point style

Hello I am a bit of a novice so please excuse the ignorance of my question.

I am drafting for surveyors and have set up my description keys and point groups but am having problems with my trees and the symbol that I want to use for them.

I used the tree symbol that comes with AutoCAD just for a test and I don’t even know how to get that tree to scale using the field description.

I would like to use a symbol like the one below (or something similar) that has a spread and a trunk.

I'm using the description TR 6 .5 8 conifer being "TR spread trunk height species", the species is mostly not used, but can use anything that will make it easy (i.e. I can tell the surveyors to change the code).

Not sure if it is possible but would like the trunk to scale on the symbol and the spread also and the hatch in the trunk to exclude the text. Below is an example of what I'm trying to achieve.

Capture_2014-01-02_175813.png

Any suggestions of how I can achieve something like this will be appreciated. Please remember I am a novice and may need step by step instructions as I have always done things the old fashioned way and edited trees by hand.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks for reading.

Tags (1)
24 REPLIES 24
Message 2 of 25
rendarin
in reply to: allywhite666

You could separate them into separate Point Groups and apply differing styles. This may not be the most elegant way and I haven't really tried it yet.