AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Sduffin
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-10-2006
Message 1 of 11 (1,061 Views)

Tooltips are not showing

1061 Views, 10 Replies
09-13-2006 07:31 AM
Probably an easy fix ... but I cannot get my tooltips to display automatically (i.e. display surface elevations by hovering the mouse over a point). My computer used to do it but for some strange reason it does not anymore. The show tool tips dialog is set to "yes" and each surface is set to show tooltips. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
*John Mayo
Message 2 of 11 (1,061 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

09-13-2006 08:52 AM in reply to: Sduffin
Isn't this a function of the Dynamic Input? Is the DYN button on the Status
bar depressed?

John

wrote in message news:5327484@discussion.autodesk.com...
Probably an easy fix ... but I cannot get my tooltips to display
automatically (i.e. display surface elevations by hovering the mouse over a
point). My computer used to do it but for some strange reason it does not
anymore. The show tool tips dialog is set to "yes" and each surface is set
to show tooltips. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Contributor
Sduffin
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-10-2006
Message 3 of 11 (1,061 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

09-13-2006 09:10 AM in reply to: Sduffin
Thanks for the reply. I have also gone through this dialog trying different options but the dynamic input options are not helping in this case. Any other ideas?
Contributor
ryan.hawken
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 4 of 11 (943 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

04-20-2011 05:37 PM in reply to: Sduffin

I'm having the same problem. No elevations are showing when hovering over the surface. Also using the ID command returns an elevation zero. Tootips are on as is dynamic input. I have tried rebuilding the surface but this doesn't help.

 

Did anyone have a solution to this?

 

Cheers

Ryan

Valued Mentor
engineer4life1979
Posts: 643
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 5 of 11 (927 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

04-24-2011 06:14 PM in reply to: ryan.hawken

Ryan, does setting OSNAPZ to 0 help with the ID command returning correct elevations?

Civil 3D 2013 SP1, Win 7-64 bit
12GB RAM
Contributor
ryan.hawken
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 6 of 11 (894 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

04-27-2011 09:05 PM in reply to: Sduffin

 

See the post that helped solve the problem for me here

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Displaying-surface-point-alignment-etc-properties/td-...

 

Cheers

Ryan

Distinguished Contributor
lsimms1
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 7 of 11 (886 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

04-28-2011 05:17 AM in reply to: Sduffin

If all else fails double check your layers.  Make sure layers are not frozen (layer 0, and the C layers or whatever you have them set to)

 

New Member
s_smulan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2013
Message 8 of 11 (234 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

02-03-2014 08:45 PM in reply to: Sduffin

Most likely your tooltips were turned off in that drawing.

To turn them back on you can go into the Drawing Settings and turn that option ON.

To get there click on the C3D button on the top left of screen> Drawing Utilities> Drawing Settings. Then go to Ambient Settings> General> Show Tooltips> Change value to 'Yes'

.

Mentor
PorterCAD
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 9 of 11 (224 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

02-04-2014 10:49 PM in reply to: Sduffin
You can also type in TOOLTIPS at the command line and toggle it on.
Jason Porter
Enceptia Technical Advisor & Civil Solutions Blogger
http://enceptia.com/author/jporter/
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,094
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 11 (216 Views)

Re: Tooltips are not showing

02-05-2014 04:40 AM in reply to: PorterCAD

PorterCAD wrote:
You can also type in TOOLTIPS at the command line and toggle it on.

TOOLTIPS at the command line is an AutoCAD generic setting

What s_smulan is referrring to is Civil 3D specific.

 

If TOOLTIPS = 0, then it doesn't matter what the C3D settings are set to, but if TOOLTIPS = 1 and the C3D setting is set to not show tooltips, then they will not show up.   Also, the C3D setting can be set at the top for a drawing-wide setting or it can have a different setting per feature (For example, you can turn on Surface tooltips, and turn off Alignment and Profile tooltips)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs