AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 1 of 12 (370 Views)

Tool bar commands

370 Views, 11 Replies
08-01-2012 11:49 AM

My draworder tool bar buttons and pull down commands are not working.  I click on them and get 

Command: Unknown command "AI_DRAWORDER". Press F1 for help.
Command: Unknown command "FRONT". Press F1 for help.

 

This is the same issue for all of the draworder commands.

 

If I type draworder in the commande line I can get it to work.  How do I restore my tool bar commands to get them to work?

Greg Scott, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,784
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 12 (364 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-01-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: gscott

Sorry if I cover old ground but you haven't said if you've tried anything yet.

 

Try closing and restarting Civil 3D. If that doesn't work try rebooting the computer. If neither of those work try doing a repair on the installation. A repair should do it if is the others don't. Make sure to backup customized files before the repair. Just in case.

 

My standard mantra is Restart, Reboot, Recover, Repair, Reinstall, Reinstall (clean), Retire.

 

Allen

Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 3 of 12 (361 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-01-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I tried closing and restarting Civil 3D and rebooting the computer and none of those worked.  I also tried resetting the civil and land cui and that didn't work.  I have not done a repair yet.  Where do I find the customized files that you said should be backed up?

Greg Scott, P.E.
Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 4 of 12 (358 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-01-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: AllenJessup
Thanks for responding Allen. I tried closing and restarting Civil 3D and rebooting the computer and none of those worked. I also tried resetting the civil and land cui and that didn't work. I have not done a repair yet. Where do I find the customized files that you said should be backed up? Greg Scott, P.E.
Greg Scott, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,784
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 12 (357 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-01-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: gscott

If you or someone in your office hasn't done any customization yet, you probably don't have to worry about it. It's always a good idea to export your profile [Options > Profile Tab > Export]. If you're using an OOTB profile, those shown like this; <<profile>>, I'd suggest exporting to a new name like; Civil 3D 1.1 or whatever you like. After the repair, if things don't look like you want, import that profile.

 

If you use an Icon to start civil 3D. You might want to add that profile to the icon properties. You can also add your workspace.

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\AecBase.dbx" /nologo /p "C3D Metric 2.0" /w "C3D2.0"

 

Allen

Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 6 of 12 (335 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-01-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: AllenJessup
Allen, I did a repair, rebooted and restarted AutoCad and still have the same problem. Not sure I want to go through the headache of re-installing yet. I guess as long as I can type in the command on the command line to get it to work then it isn't the end of the world. There should be an easy way to fix this though. I guess the next step is to retire. Thanks for your help. Greg Scott, P.E.
Greg Scott, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,784
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 12 (315 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-02-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: gscott

That's strange that a repair didn't fix it. You can check that the command properties still have  ^C^C^P(ai_draworder "_f") ^P  as the Command string in bring to front.

 

Allen

Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 8 of 12 (311 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-02-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: gscott

I'm not sure about the FRONT command, but the AI_DRAWORDER command is defined in the acad20##doc.lsp file.  This file loads with each drawing.  Since the AI_DRAWORDER command is not working, indicates that AutoCAD is not finding this file in the support file path, or it is finding the wrong one.  For 2013, this file gets installed in the C:\program files\autodesk\autocad civil 3d 2013\support\en-us folder.  To locate it on your computer, enter the following autolisp code on the command line: (findfile "acad2013doc.lsp")

 

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 9 of 12 (308 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-02-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
Hi Allen, Below is what my command properties are for this particular command under the ACAD source. Anything look out of order? It is slightly different than what you stated, but I should point out that we are using AutoCAD Civil 3D LDC 2009, if that makes any difference. I looked at the same one on another computer that works and it is the same thing as on my computer Greg Scott, P.E.
Greg Scott, P.E.
Active Member
gscott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 10 of 12 (305 Views)

Re: Tool bar commands

08-02-2012 10:10 AM in reply to: david.zavislan
Hi David, I should point out that we are still using AutoCAD Civil 3D Land Desktop Companion 2009, if that makes a difference. I found the file you referred to under C:\program files\AutoCAD Civil 3D Land Desktop Companion 2009\support. It is also under the C:\program files\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2009\support. There was no en-us under the support folder. The en-us is directly under the Autocad Civil 3D Land Desktop Companion 2009 folder. How do I determine if the AutoCAD is looking in the right file path or correct it if it is not? Greg Scott, P.E. >From David I'm not sure about the FRONT command, but the AI_DRAWORDER command is defined in the acad20##doc.lsp file. This file loads with each drawing. Since the AI_DRAWORDER command is not working, indicates that AutoCAD is not finding this file in the support file path, or it is finding the wrong one. For 2013, this file gets installed in the C:\program files\autodesk\autocad civil 3d 2013\support\en-us folder. To locate it on your computer, enter the following autolisp code on the command line: (findfile "acad2013doc.lsp")
Greg Scott, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs