AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Palanlan
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-20-2013
Message 1 of 4 (233 Views)

Too Many Section Grade Break Labels

233 Views, 3 Replies
03-04-2014 02:59 PM

I know this question has been asked before, but I have yet to find a good solution.

 

I am labelling offset/elevation at grade breaks in section views (many, many section views) for a proposed surface.  For some reason, I am getting somewhere around 40 labels for a section that ought to have 5 or so.

 

Now, I have used the method expressed in this blog: http://civilfastforward.com/?p=383 which uses expressions to make label text extremely small if a section grade change is below a certain amount (i.e. less than 2%).

 

While this is quite clever, it does not work if the labels are set to stagger.  The taxt may be small, but the stagger extension lines still appear!  So now, I just have a ton of crooked lines all over the place.  Also, for whatever reason, labels still appear in my sections for non-existent grade breaks on flat sections (and I mean FLAT, no change in elevation, whatsoever).

 

I know that I can turn the visibility off for labels that I don't want to see.  But I have a lot of superfluous labels and every time I change the surface I'd have to go back through all of the sections and turn the unwanted labels off again, one by one.

 

Question 1:

Has anyone come up with a better solution to this problem?  I've done quite a bit of searching and everyone seems to point back to using expressions, which seems like a half-fast work around that doesn't actually work that well.

 

Question 2:

Is there a way to fix my surface so that AutoCAD doesn't find grade breaks everywhere?  Surface smoothing? Reduce section view precision?

 

Question 3:

Why isn't there a weeding parameter based on SECTION GRADE CHANGE for grade break labelling, and only a weeding factor based on DISTANCE? This would be incredibly helpful feature (I'm talking to you, Civil 3D creators!).

 

 

Running AutoCAD Civil 3D
Valued Contributor
jnjhuz
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎04-03-2013
Message 2 of 4 (105 Views)

Re: Too Many Section Grade Break Labels

07-22-2014 10:46 AM in reply to: Palanlan

Did you ever find a solution to your problem. I have the same question. I have multiple labels for a single slope.

Contributor
Palanlan
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-20-2013
Message 3 of 4 (68 Views)

Re: Too Many Section Grade Break Labels

07-27-2014 03:45 PM in reply to: jnjhuz

Nope, didn't ever find a real solution.  Used a workaround in this thread: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/Filtering-Grade-Break-Labels/td-p/3464112

 

Basically you use an expression to make the label text tiny if the grade break is outside of a specified range.  I actually found that using the expression to make the unwanted labels' text huge, then hiding all of them by selecting an right-clicking worked much better.  Otherwise you end up getting a bunch of dots on your sections which are the tiny superfluous grade break labels.  Furthermore, if you make the text on the unwanted labels small, the extensions still show up so you end up with a bunch of jogged lines.

 

It seems like the Autodeskies could fairly simply add a weeding factor based on 'change in grade' to the section grade break dialogue box but I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Running AutoCAD Civil 3D
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 770
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 4 of 4 (42 Views)

Re: Too Many Section Grade Break Labels

07-28-2014 08:18 PM in reply to: Palanlan

Palanlan wrote:

Question 2:

Is there a way to fix my surface so that AutoCAD doesn't find grade breaks everywhere?  Surface smoothing? Reduce section view precision?

 

 

This happens when you have surface triangles crossing you section sample lines.

You need to make sure your corridor section frequency matches your sample lines, so that the corridor surface has triangle lines with edges running along the sample line.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.