AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CrazyIvan
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-15-2007
Message 1 of 5 (95 Views)

Toggline Corridors in an XREF'd Drawing

95 Views, 4 Replies
06-19-2013 09:30 AM

Is there a way to toggle visibility of a corridor in a drawing where the model has been Xref'd into?


The problem I am having is that we have one Model drawing that has a corridor.

 

This Model is xref'd into multiple drawings.  Not all drawings should show the corridor.

 

The only way I have found so far is to go into model and toggle the corridor on and off depending on which drawing I want to print or view.  It creates problems when you want to run a Publish of multiple drawings because you always have to goof with the Model file.  This seems a bit of a step back from being able to toggle visibility of objects in a drawing file with an xref atached and leaving it that way and ready to be printed at any time.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,189
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 5 (92 Views)

Re: Toggline Corridors in an XREF'd Drawing

06-19-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: CrazyIvan

In the corridor object style the layers can be set to something such as C-Road-Corr and then can be frozen in drawings as desired assuming the xref is attached on layer zero and Visretain is set to 1 in the dwg's referencing corridor source dwg.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 3 of 5 (82 Views)

Re: Toggline Corridors in an XREF'd Drawing

06-19-2013 10:46 AM in reply to: CrazyIvan

My workflow is exactly like Jay's.  We have our corridor object mapped to it's own layer.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Distinguished Contributor
CrazyIvan
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-15-2007
Message 4 of 5 (75 Views)

Re: Toggline Corridors in an XREF'd Drawing

06-19-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Sounds like a plan. I appreciate it.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,696
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 5 (64 Views)

Re: Toggline Corridors in an XREF'd Drawing

06-19-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: CrazyIvan

Set modifiers for Object layers in your template - very useful

 

2013-06-19 20_15_41-AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 - [FCS Area 1.dwg [Civil]].png

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs