AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*David Dixon
Message 1 of 35 (92 Views)

To Vault or Not to Vault?

92 Views, 34 Replies
05-02-2006 12:07 PM
Anyone have any ideas on this question? Personally, I'm going to
initially shy away from Vault and continue to use Data Shortcuts. It'll
be enough for us just to learn the new C3D features without being confused
by the Vault functions. Plus it sounds like we need a MS SQL server
unless someone else can tell me that it works with open-source database
like MySQL. $$$
Distinguished Contributor
jpostlewait
Posts: 2,433
Registered: ‎10-05-2004
Message 2 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 01:02 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
I have a similar distrust of rolling out vault.
Little different situation here.
Currently our SQL server is running pretty full and we don't want to put any more load on it.
Need another SQL server another windows server 2003 license and hardware.
Or we can take the other SQL box up to enterprise SQL , at a phenomenal fee and buy CAL's. All to deploy in my mind an unproven product.

John Postlewait
IS Department
George Butler Associates, Inc.
*TomD
Message 3 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 01:55 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
My understanding is that it can use MySQL. I plan to look into that, but
have not done so, yet.

.....I believe this is correct information, but do not take it as gospel.

"David Dixon" wrote in message
news:5161381@discussion.autodesk.com...
Anyone have any ideas on this question? Personally, I'm going to
initially shy away from Vault and continue to use Data Shortcuts. It'll
be enough for us just to learn the new C3D features without being confused
by the Vault functions. Plus it sounds like we need a MS SQL server
unless someone else can tell me that it works with open-source database
like MySQL. $$$
*Jon Rizzo
Message 4 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 01:58 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
vault only runs on SQL Server, MSDE or SQL Server Express 2005. Both MSDE
and SQL Server Express 2005 are free and included with Vault. Vault does
NOT run on MySQL.


"TomD" wrote in message
news:5161549@discussion.autodesk.com...
My understanding is that it can use MySQL. I plan to look into that, but
have not done so, yet.

.....I believe this is correct information, but do not take it as gospel.

"David Dixon" wrote in message
news:5161381@discussion.autodesk.com...
Anyone have any ideas on this question? Personally, I'm going to
initially shy away from Vault and continue to use Data Shortcuts. It'll
be enough for us just to learn the new C3D features without being confused
by the Vault functions. Plus it sounds like we need a MS SQL server
unless someone else can tell me that it works with open-source database
like MySQL. $$$
*Jon Rizzo
Message 5 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 02:00 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
You are going to have difficulty using data shortcuts. Data shortcuts in
existing projects will still work, but there is no UI to create new ones.
All of the project-management aspects of the program are Vault only. You
could always roll your own and create your shortcuts manually, but I
wouldn't recommend it.

Jon Rizzo
Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc.


wrote in message news:5161444@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have a similar distrust of rolling out vault.
Little different situation here.
Currently our SQL server is running pretty full and we don't want to put any
more load on it.
Need another SQL server another windows server 2003 license and hardware.
Or we can take the other SQL box up to enterprise SQL , at a phenomenal fee
and buy CAL's. All to deploy in my mind an unproven product.

John Postlewait
IS Department
George Butler Associates, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
MMccall
Posts: 1,177
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 6 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 02:08 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
If one chooses to run 2007 without the vault installed will there be a huge loss of functionality?
Distinguished Contributor
kevincurrey
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 7 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 02:14 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Data shortcuts can still be created (contrary to what is said above) by going to the general menu -> data shortcuts -> edit data shortcuts, and using the command in the panorama window.
There is a big problem with data shortcuts though.
In order to use them in another drawing, you have to export them to an xml file. You import that xml file into the drawing you want references in (via the same panorama window). You create your references, and they look good. Now save and close the drawing.
Now comes the problem: Open it up again, and all your shortcuts are "broken." If you look in the panorama window again, you'll see it doesn't list the shortcuts there. So to get them to come back, you have to import that darn xml file again.
So to sum it up, EVERY TIME you open a drawing with references, you have to re-import the shortcut xml file for those references to be visible. Which means that data shortcuts are essentially unusable, and you have no choice but to go to vault and MS SQL.
*Jon Rizzo
Message 8 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 02:32 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Not if you work alone...


wrote in message news:5161537@discussion.autodesk.com...
If one chooses to run 2007 without the vault installed will there be a huge
loss of functionality?
Distinguished Contributor
jpostlewait
Posts: 2,433
Registered: ‎10-05-2004
Message 9 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 03:16 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Jon, my truth detector just redlined.
This is shaping up to be quite the upgrade.
First I'm faced with spiraling subscription costs for a product that isn't ready for production use.
Then I'm told that if you are going to implement you are going to have to get someone in to help.
Then the unexpected Dollar bomb of another SQL server to use the no longer available data shortcuts.
Now I find out I won't be able to plot directly to my plotters until they are reformatted.
And I'm an idiot if I roll this product out for at least 6 month's because of the dwg format change.
Please don't think I'm shouting at you Jon, from everything I've heard from people I trust you're good people. I'm just blowing off some steam.

John Postlewait
IS Department
George Butler Associates

xcuse me I'm done here, I got to go rant about the Revit Revolution I have to deal with also.
Distinguished Contributor
MMccall
Posts: 1,177
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 10 of 35 (92 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 03:27 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Well, I do for the most part. I'm the solo CAD jockey in a firm of five. (the others are PEs and PPs) I'm also the IT dept. I just checked my 2003 server with SBE and it already has MSSQL installed and running so I should be fine. I'm glad my employers agreed with me on the server investment when we opened shop last year but I can definitely see this requirement irritating many small firms.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.