AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 11 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 03:35 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Hope you're not depending on small biz server for a website or email, 'cause everything I've been hearing about vault is that it won't get along with either.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 1,177
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 12 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 03:40 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
We do, in addition storing all our files, it hosts an intranet site (that we don't use), and Exchange mail services.

What are some alternative was of fulfilling this SQL requirement other than a full blown server? Can a single workstation run an SQL service for itself if there is only one seat of C3D to service? or maybe an older workstation attached to the network running the service for a small installation of seats?
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 13 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 03:57 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
This is exactly what we're planning on doing. Either using a little bit older workstation, or possibly running a VM on our server. Problem is, I don't know anything about virtual machine, but I intend to learn a lot about it this week.
*David Dixon
Message 14 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 06:48 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
WOW!!! Thanks for all the responses; much to ponder. I'm surprised to
hear that Data Shortcuts do not work as in 2006. I'll have to try this
for myself later in the week. I just installed C3D 07 today without the
Autodesk Data Management enabled. I just want to jump in and start using
the design tools, not spend time being a database manager. Since we are
eventually going to be installed across about 20 people, we'll have to
work out the sharing information process. We might be forced into using
Vault after all. Hopefully eventually, our architectural and building
systems friends will be able to follow us into this data management system
too.

Thanks to all,
David Dixon
Clark Nexsen, Architecture & Engineering
Norfolk, Virginia USA

On Tue, 02 May 2006 15:07:52 -0400, David Dixon wrote:

> Anyone have any ideas on this question? Personally, I'm going to
> initially shy away from Vault and continue to use Data Shortcuts. It'll
> be enough for us just to learn the new C3D features without being
> confused
> by the Vault functions. Plus it sounds like we need a MS SQL server
> unless someone else can tell me that it works with open-source database
> like MySQL. $$$
Active Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎06-16-2003
Message 15 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 09:37 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
I haven't actually used vault but one thing that strikes me when anyone has mentioned using MSDE is the size limitation. The free version of MSDE has a 2 Gig limit on size. Our CAD files, Land Desktop files, etc on our server right now total over 60 gig. With file sizes in the 2-20 meg range with civil 3D I don't see MSDE being a valid alternative for long with most firms without upgrading to the full license of SQL Server. Message was edited by: adamsonk
*James Wedding
Message 16 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-02-2006 09:52 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Vault's db is actually only storing pointers and change records, not the dwg
or other data.

2G is a lot of one line pointers, so the ~10 user limit is more of a concern
for most shops.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2006 SP2
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 1.5G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
*Jon Rizzo
Message 17 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 06:11 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
Vault can be upgraded to SQL Server Express 2005, which comes with Vault.
SSE does not have an artificial performance throttle like MSDE, so as a
result it can handle a few more users. I don't know how many more, since it
is still a free database, but performance should be better with more than 10
people or so. :-)

Jon Rizzo
Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc.



"James Wedding" wrote in message
news:5161873@discussion.autodesk.com...
Vault's db is actually only storing pointers and change records, not the dwg
or other data.

2G is a lot of one line pointers, so the ~10 user limit is more of a concern
for most shops.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2006 SP2
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 1.5G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
*James Wedding
Message 18 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 06:59 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
It's one of those things, isn't it? No one really knows where the ceiling
is, but you sure as heck don't want to run into it.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2006 SP2
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 1.5G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
*TomD
Message 19 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 07:10 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
One of the presenters at BootCamp said that it would.......hmmmm.......Adesk
comment?

IMO, this is NOT a minor issue............there are some folks out here
using MySQL and this could be a huge issue.

"Jon Rizzo" wrote in message
news:5161561@discussion.autodesk.com...
vault only runs on SQL Server, MSDE or SQL Server Express 2005. Both MSDE
and SQL Server Express 2005 are free and included with Vault. Vault does
NOT run on MySQL.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎01-25-2005
Message 20 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 07:38 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
Has anyone here addressed the issue of vault & xrefs yet? Specifically how would you use sheet set manager with a project in vault? What I have been able to come up with so far is that I probably only want to have my data drawings in the vault, and have everything else reference the "working copy" outside of vault. But it seems like this could get hairy if you want to keep all your drawings on a server (as opposed to C:\Civil 3D Projects, or whatever).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs