AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 1 of 8 (207 Views)

Templates and Point Groups

207 Views, 7 Replies
09-27-2012 11:04 AM

Can you create point groups in your template to be used by all drawings or do they have to be per dwg.?

 

Thxs.


David

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 2 of 8 (204 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Yes you cand have this setup in your template.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 8 (198 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Yes.  You can also create surfaces using those point groups in your template, so when you import points, your surface is automatically created.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,512
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 8 (184 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: TRogers

Hi Todd,

 

I loved that technique, but I the problem I had was I would have these empty surfaces in the prospector for all my drawings. I thought about different tplates for surfaces but I didn't think it was worth monitoring many templates.

 

How do you do? Many templates or just delete the empty surfaces as you go?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 8 (182 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Well I'm not in production, so there is no need for me to have that in my template file.  If I was in production, I would have just the one template file with one surface for existing ground.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,512
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (171 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: TRogers

Thats my delema. I have one template file for production so every drawing gets created with an EG in it. It can get confusing after the "real" eg gets DS into other production drawings with this prototype eg already in it. Am I making sense?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 7 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

AAAH, I see your delimma.  That does make sense.  That would probably end up causing some serious problems down the road.  Maybe rename the one in the template to be something else?  Otherwise, just don't create one in the template.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,512
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 8 (166 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: TRogers

Yeah, I gave up on it. I principle ita a great idea. I went all out making emply surfaces, pipe networks, aligments profiles, corridors, point groups all of it. Works great when you are in a bubble but not in production

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs