Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Survey Database issues

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1985 Views, 6 Replies

Survey Database issues

I have been using Civil 3D (using 2013) for a few years, but I am new to the surveying side of the software. I have seen other posts with a similar problem, but have not seen where anyone actually posted a solution to this.  Perhaps I missed it.  My problem is that I assumed that I was okay by having my coordinate system picked within Drawing Settings.  I imported points from ASCII files, creating databases that included survey figures.  Two days ago I realized that my point coordinates within my drawings did not match my coordinates from the files.  I found where Survey Databases have their own settings for coordinate system.  My question regards what would be the proper work flow for fixing this problem.

I don't have CAD open, as I'm home now.  To the best of my knowledge I have tried, after setting the coordinate system within Survey Database:

1. Going through each Import event, removing points from the drawing, then re-importing ONLY the points, not the linework.  I did this because I made a ton of edits within Civil 3D to the survey figures and I did not want to repeat the edits.  Of course this made my survey figures disappear from the Survey Database, even though the linework was still within Autocad.  Yes, I realize that they are merely graphical representations.  Not only did I lose the figures, but my points did not move.
  2. I tried removing the points again, then imported the ASCII files using the Point Creation menu.  This brough the points in at the right coordinates, but my survey figures did not move.