AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dwk1204
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎03-30-2007
Message 1 of 4 (254 Views)

Survey Database Working Folder

254 Views, 3 Replies
02-07-2013 11:55 AM

At my office we set the the survey database working folder for each individual project, but many times the individual working on the project forgets to set the folder to their particular project. Is there a way to set Civil up, so when you open a drawing it also opens the associated database?

 

Is importing all your text files then adding them to a database good practice? Doing it this way will not allow linework to function correctly, though?

 

Just looking for thoughts...Thanks in advance for any information...

Distinguished Contributor
mikehathaway2942
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Message 2 of 4 (249 Views)

Re: Survey Database Working Folder

02-07-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: dwk1204

dwk1204 wrote:

At my office we set the the survey database working folder for each individual project, but many times the individual working on the project forgets to set the folder to their particular project. Is there a way to set Civil up, so when you open a drawing it also opens the associated database?

 

Is importing all your text files then adding them to a database good practice? Doing it this way will not allow linework to function correctly, though?

 

Just looking for thoughts...Thanks in advance for any information...


We set our working folder to the main directory such as /Civil3d Projects.  That way all survey databases are listed when you open the survey database tab.  Each survey database has the same # as our projects.  Not sure if that makes sense or not, but this allows all the survey drawings, civil drawings, etc... to reside in the same directory as the survey database.  We've has zero issues with this setup and you only set your working folder once and forget about it.

We import only text files into our database and get clear, accurate linework.  You have to setup your Civil3d figure prefixes and Field work accordingly to accomplish this .

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,771
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 4 (239 Views)

Re: Survey Database Working Folder

02-07-2013 12:53 PM in reply to: dwk1204

It's not free, but not too expensive either. http://www.smartdraft.com/individual.htm

 

We run the entire suite.

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 684
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 4 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: Survey Database Working Folder

02-07-2013 03:56 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Now that's pretty nifty, this should already be a feature though, just like it is with data shortcuts.

 

I already have a defualt dbx file in my standard project folder setup, and just have to open the database each time I work on things in the survey database (i.e. translate).

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs