Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Survey Database Coordinates differ...

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Thewitt
1311 Views, 10 Replies

Survey Database Coordinates differ...

I'm having trouble getting my coordinates in Civil 3D to match my coordinates in my Trimble TSC2 data collector when I process the data though the survey funtionality of Civil 3D. I can successfully get the points that were located with GPS to match correctly with C3D and the data collector. The issue are the points that were collected with a total station. When I process the work in Civil the coordinates do not match. I'm only talking a hundredth to a couple thousandths, but I'm a surveyor that strives for accuracy. I have adjusted all the different settings. I have found that when I only use the the Sea Level correction my coordinates almost are exact. I understand Civil strips all the corrections that my data collector applies and then reapplies based upon Civils formulas. I am just curious if anyone else has experienced this and if they have, what have they done to correct this issue.
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: Thewitt

My understanding is that Trimble export removes the adjustments when
exporting to a FBK file. Civil 3d doesn't remove them, but Trimble Link
does so that Civil 3d can readjust them there.

Matthew Anderson, PE

thewitt wrote: