Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surface slope

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
rajeshpatnaik2001
1992 Views, 12 Replies

Surface slope

Hello,

I use Civil 3D 2011 and I am new to it.
I have created a natural ground surface from survey points. Now i want to create a finished surface with a specific slope in a specific direction at a specific elevation and then to calculate cut and fill volume.
I can create a flat surface at a specific elevation. Please let me know how to tilt this surface to a specific slope along a specific direction.

Thanks in advance.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13

use featurelines and offset as required

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz
NVIDIA RTX A5000 16Gb, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell Inspiron 7760
Message 3 of 13

Please explain me in little detail with steps.

My design surface is like the red polygon shown in the picture attached and the direction of slope is marked by the green arrow. Thanks.

Surface

Message 4 of 13

As the saying goes... there are many ways to skin a cat...

ignoring what the outline is, one can assume a uniform grade accross the whole object. In this case you could:
1. draw a FL from corner to corner as your green arrow shows (Point A-B, at the designed slope.
2. offset the FL beyound the figure on either side at zero slope
3. make a temp surface of the 3 FL
4. make a FL of yhe red outline ( in a different site) then extract the elevations fron the temp surf to youe verts