AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Jeff Mishler
Message 11 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

07-25-2007 05:17 PM in reply to: eladkcem
Dale, can you post the subject drawing? Or email it if you don't want it
publicly posted?

wrote in message news:5669740@discussion.autodesk.com...
Unfortunately, there aren't any no-plot layers either. Every single layer is
on, unfroze, and set to print (and there are no vp overrides).

Is there any way of exporting the paperspace layouts and the objects of the
file to another file to see if I can get rid of the problem that way?

thanks

-d
Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 12 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

07-25-2007 05:42 PM in reply to: eladkcem
there are some new 2008 layer control by viewport things that might be dorking you up. i know you say there are no overrides, but it might be worth selecting that viewport and going into layer properties one more time.
Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 13 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

07-26-2007 04:36 PM in reply to: eladkcem
Thanks for the suggestions everybody.
Unfortunately still no luck so far getting the contours to print.

Copies of the layouts behave just as the original (unselectable/non-printing surface).

I also rechecked the viewport overides - nothing.
I installed the 2008 sp 1, but that doesn't seem to help either.

Any other suggestions? I'd post the file, but it is very large.

-d
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 14 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

07-26-2007 05:40 PM in reply to: eladkcem
I created new layout with a new viewport and in this the surface behaves normally (and plots).

If however, I create a new viewport on the existing layouts that don't work, the new viewport will also not work.

any thoughts?
Distinguished Contributor
peter.a.thomson
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎07-23-2006
Message 15 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

07-26-2007 05:40 PM in reply to: eladkcem
have a look at "Dropsend" on the web......it may provide you a solution to transmit your file to some kind person on this forum...

PT
Active Contributor
nickiemills7609
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-14-2007
Message 16 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

03-12-2008 10:56 AM in reply to: eladkcem
Having same problem. Tried exporting contours to plines, and checked all the noplot, vpfrz, frz, on, etc. Checked vpoverrides...

Still can see the plines thru the vport, and see the eg contours on the eg surf thru the port, but no plot..??..??

Anybody get this resolved?

NDM
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 17 of 30 (712 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

03-12-2008 08:07 PM in reply to: eladkcem
Try recover on the drawing.
Try recover on any XREF in the drawing.

Did you get an error? "Graphics not generated"? Is this a plot preview issue? or actual hard copy?

have you tried plotting to a DWF file?

Are the layers lineweights, named plot styles and/or colors "plottable" ?
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Member
jmeza
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 18 of 30 (625 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

05-16-2011 02:30 PM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

while in paperspace, activate your viewport by double clicking in it then at the command promt type vpmax.  then restore layout, that solves the problem.

Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 19 of 30 (616 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

05-17-2011 09:13 AM in reply to: jmeza

This post is over 2 years old - what version of C3d are they refering to, and which are you refering to?  Has this been resoloved in the newer releases?  I understand the C3d 2007 had many problems that no longer exist in the versions that most here are now using (10, 11 &12).

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Member
jmeza
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 20 of 30 (611 Views)

Re: Surface contours do not print

05-17-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

I did see that this post was old but unsolved, this problem arose in c3d 2008 and i encountered in c3d2012.  I recently upgraded from c3d 2010 to 2012 about two weeks ago.  I had created a surface from points and breaklines in 2010 some in January, i then decided to take this project in 2012 and everything seemed great, but everything that the original post encountered I encountered it.  One of the greatest things about c3d 2012 is it doesn't crash when working with large surfaces or a multitude of surfaces in one drawing.  So c3d 2012 is still the way to go.

 

Jessy

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs