AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
wizzer
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎11-12-2003
Message 1 of 6 (183 Views)
Accepted Solution

Surface Hide Boundaries

183 Views, 5 Replies
03-13-2014 03:36 AM

I am trying to create a composite surface of existing and proposed.  I have extracted a boundary from the proposed surfaces, but when I try to create a hide boundary on a copy of the existing (non destructive breakline checked) it doesn't quite work.  The triangles have altered along boundary but the ones within the boundary haven't hidden.

 

Have any of you had this problem?

 

Thanks in anticipation

Active Contributor
cwitzel
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (163 Views)

Re: Surface Hide Boundaries

03-13-2014 06:06 AM in reply to: wizzer

Have you tried pasting the proposed into the existing? (Surface edit)  That would be the typical way to create a composite.

 

The only time I use boundaries is when I am trying to meld two disimilar surfaces.  For example a surveyed surface and a GIS surface.  The way we would typically do it is to offset the boundary outward a distance (depends on how different they are) and then let the triangulation smooth the difference.

 

Hope that helps,

Conan Witzel

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (158 Views)

Re: Surface Hide Boundaries

03-13-2014 06:23 AM in reply to: wizzer

Whan you add a Hiddden boundary there is an 'S' option at the command line to use a surface as a hidden boundary. Did you try this? You may note even need to paste EG & FG together.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,439
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 6 (157 Views)

Re: Surface Hide Boundaries

03-13-2014 06:25 AM in reply to: cwitzel

cwitzel wrote:

Have you tried pasting the proposed into the existing? (Surface edit)  That would be the typical way to create a composite.

 

The only time I use boundaries is when I am trying to meld two disimilar surfaces.  For example a surveyed surface and a GIS surface.  The way we would typically do it is to offset the boundary outward a distance (depends on how different they are) and then let the triangulation smooth the difference.

 

Hope that helps,

Conan Witzel


Actually, I would suggest NOT pasting into the existing surface.  Create a new surface, paste the existing into it and then paste the proposed in.  This will leave the existing in tact.  See the screen shot for the location of "Paste Surface" (it's disabled in the screenshot because I only have one surface in my current file).

C3DPasteSurface.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Active Contributor
wizzer
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎11-12-2003
Message 5 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: Surface Hide Boundaries

03-14-2014 01:13 AM in reply to: cwitzel
Thanks cwitzel, I think I was trying to make this more complicated than I need to.
Active Contributor
wizzer
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎11-12-2003
Message 6 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: Surface Hide Boundaries

03-14-2014 01:14 AM in reply to: doni49
Thanks doni49, this worked, my method was too complicated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs