AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 3 (1,886 Views)

Sump/Baffle box in a drainage ditch

1886 Views, 2 Replies
09-06-2013 08:12 AM

I'm trying to add a sump/baffle box to a drainage ditch.  I'm confused about what is the best way to go about this.

 

I'm taking this project over from someone else.  They had created a surface. However, I'm confused about how the surface they made was created, but I have used it to give me a reference to were the sump is located on the profile view. (circled in blue).  Currently that surface has wall that are 1.5' high with a bottom at -1.5'.  I have drawn in the sump on the profile view (highlighted in yellow).

 

I have tried to start over by using breaklines.  I have already created a standard breakline on the N and W side at 0.  However, on the east side I can't figure out how to create a breakline and keep the drainage basin grading to the exisitng drainage basin grade.

 

I have attached screen shots of the plan and profile view. 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,496
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 3 (1,845 Views)

Re: Sump/Baffle box in a drainage ditch

09-06-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: SSAuburn

I'm confused to what your question is? do you want to create a structure or know how to grade the ditch? what is the phantom line and the blue circle area of the box?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Mentor
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 3 of 3 (1,828 Views)

Re: Sump/Baffle box in a drainage ditch

09-06-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: SSAuburn

So the sump baffle box. What is it going to do. is it to direct flow to a pipe?

 

Are you trying to direct flow until it reaches a certain elevation in the ditch and then have the excess flow travel further downstream via the ditch?

 

the surface looks like an existing ground surface but. That can be deceiving depending upon the style applied.

 

I would recommend doing a couple of things.

 

1.

If you are confused as to how the surface was created, you can check to see if it is xreffed or data shortcut into the current dwg. Follow the clues back to the source and investigate. There will be a trail. Not always clean and clearcut but you should be able to determine how the surface was built to a reasonable degree of certainty.

 

2.

If you are accepting of the surface data as is and want further assistance, we will need to know exactly what you are trying to accomplish with the bafflebox.

 

Because right now, I am the one baffled. LOL

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs