AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 51 (801 Views)

Suite versions of software

801 Views, 50 Replies
04-15-2013 11:31 AM
My understanding is that the version of Map that civil 3d is built on isn't quite the full standalone version.

what are the differences between the software in the infrastructure design site premium compared to the standalone versions e.g raster design, 3ds, revit structure and how much practical difference do any differences make?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,849
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 51 (792 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-15-2013 11:42 AM in reply to: neilyj

I talked to our reseller last year about this. I don't remember the particulars about Map 3D but they weren't anything I thought we'd need. Some more analysis sections I believe. RD is RD afaik.

 

What will make it attractive for us is that since we already use RD. We can actually save money by going with the suite.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,227
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 51 (789 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-15-2013 11:45 AM in reply to: neilyj

with premium and ultimate suite you get:

Bridge Module**

Model bridges and bridge   components.

Geotechnical Module**

Streamline import, use,   and documentation of borehole data.

Rail Layout Module**

Streamline the layout of   tracks. Create new alignments and switch graphics based on the rail turnout   catalog.

 

**AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 is included in Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 Premium and Ultimate editions. This module is only available to Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 Premium and Ultimate edition, Subscription users and is not available in stand-alone AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 software.

 

plus its cheaper if you buy the suite if one person needs at least three of the programs in the suite compared to buying each one separately

the functionalitys the same civil 3d in the suite is the same as civil 3d non suite

the licensing will be different if you buy suite compared to standalone programs

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,227
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 51 (785 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-15-2013 11:47 AM in reply to: DarrenP

with civil 3d you don't get the industry data modeling  like you do get with map 3d

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 51 (723 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 12:26 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Thanks for this - Geotechnical Module is the only worthwhile one for me....but I was really asking about the other non Civil 3D included software

 

2013-04-16 08_24_21-Infrastructure Design Suite _ Included Software _ Autodesk.jpg

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 6 of 51 (708 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: neilyj

 

neilyj wrote:

Thanks for this - Geotechnical Module is the only worthwhile one for me....but I was really asking about the other non Civil 3D included software

 

2013-04-16 08_24_21-Infrastructure Design Suite _ Included Software _ Autodesk.jpg


In my opinion Autodesk needs to rename Utility Design as it's only one utility, electric. There are lots of utilities, storm water, waste water, electric, gas, communications, etc. If the program is only designed for one of them, then it should be called Electric Design. It's useless for us. I also doubt ReCap will be worth anything. I've tried many times to use its past incarnations to generate a model of something based on photographs and it fails every single time. Revit might be useful, but it won't be used much as most bridge work is done by outside sources for us. Navisworks sounds neat, but it's really more suited to major building and site designs, not roadway or sidewalk design, so it's kind of useless for us also. Infraworks is the only new software that might actually be useful for us, depending upon how well it integrates with Civil 3D and ArcGIS. 

 

We already have a license of Raster Design and 3ds Max, so at least upgrading one of our C3D licenses to the Suite is worth it, but not the rest of them. 

 

I'm still waiting on that opt out email that Autodesk said they'd send in a few weeks, but that was 6 weeks ago and I still haven't recieved it. We don't want all of our C3D licenses converted and so far Autodesk hasn't given us a way out. 

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,849
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 51 (696 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: engrtech

engrtech wrote:

 

I'm still waiting on that opt out email that Autodesk said they'd send in a few weeks, but that was 6 weeks ago and I still haven't recieved it. We don't want all of our C3D licenses converted and so far Autodesk hasn't given us a way out. 


It's probably going to be in the same email that announces the availability for download. I don't know the status of every piece in the suite. So you may be given the chance to opt out and download just Civil 3d or accept the suite and have to wait for all the pieces to be available.
 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 51 (688 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
Apparently download day is 18th April - at least for North America.

I'll be going down the Premium Suite route so hopefully (along with Raster and the Geotechnical Module) there be something useful.

PS Is Raster Design a standalone product or is it run directly from Civil ??
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 9 of 51 (685 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:
Apparently download day is 18th April - at least for North America.

I'll be going down the Premium Suite route so hopefully (along with Raster and the Geotechnical Module) there be something useful.

PS Is Raster Design a standalone product or is it run directly from Civil ??

Raster Design is an add-on to AutoCAD and any of its verticals. It just adds a new ribbon tab and some image manipulation pallets. 

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 10 of 51 (670 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-16-2013 07:00 AM in reply to: engrtech
thanks for this :smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.