AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,483
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 21 of 51 (326 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
That would make sense - will need to wait and see....:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,619
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 22 of 51 (317 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 05:22 AM in reply to: neilyj

I should have been more positive in my reply. Last year when someone from Autodesk was pushing the suite I checked it out with our reseller. That's what they explained to me. So I'm sure that we would get a separate full seat of Map 3D. But unless you want to use TopoBase. There won't be much call to use that instead of what's built in to Civil.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,483
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 23 of 51 (315 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
It's a lot more convenient to just switch the Workspace in Civil to get the Map stuff than open an instance of Map as well as Civil
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,619
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 24 of 51 (298 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 07:12 AM in reply to: neilyj
I've been going over the Infraworks Suite webpage. It looks like anyone with the Premium version AND on Subscription gets all the modules except the Roads and Highways Module. Their gird is a little messed up. They don't show Roads and Highways or River and Flood Analysis as part of Premium. But the  River and Flood Analysis Module has the same double asterisk [**] as the Bridge, Geotechnical and Rail Layout Modules. That ** note says:
 
**AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 is included in Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 Premium and Ultimate editions. This module is only available to Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 Premium and Ultimate edition, Subscription users and is not available in stand-alone AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 software
 
So that makes it look like River and Flood Analysis would be available in Premium subscription customers. But since it's contradictory I'm not sure which is right.
 
The only thing I've been able to find out about the Roads and Highways Module is
that it would allow you to do preliminary road design in Infraworks. I don't know if that's anything we really need. There's very little information out about it so far. I can't watch Youtube at work. Has anyone found more information on Roads and Highways?
 
Allen Jessup
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,483
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 25 of 51 (293 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
My understanding is that Roads and Highways & River and Flood Analysis is part of Ultimate and that Bridge, Geotechnical and Rail Layout Modules are part of Premium
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,619
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 26 of 51 (280 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

Mine too. But then I saw the note. So now it's ambiguous until someone clears it up.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,315
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 27 of 51 (248 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 02:19 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Take a look here: http://www.autodesk.com/suites/infrastructure-design-suite/included-software

 

This grid lists what software and add-ons come with each suite. Roads & Highways for Infraworks and River & Flood Analysis definitely only come with the Infrastructure Design Suite Ultimate.

 

One piece of good news: Revit Structure comes with Premium now. Revit (the single install version that includes architecture, structure and MEP) only comes with Ultimate.

 

Tim

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,483
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 28 of 51 (240 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 02:45 PM in reply to: neilyj
what does Revit Structure do?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,836
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 29 of 51 (237 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 02:46 PM in reply to: neilyj

i know with civil 3d & revit structure it helps with bridge modeling

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,836
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 30 of 51 (232 Views)

Re: Suite versions of software

04-17-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: DarrenP

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs