AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 1 of 16 (1,310 Views)
Accepted Solution

Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

1310 Views, 15 Replies
07-02-2012 06:57 AM

Can someome (Peter Funk are you there?) take a look at the attached .pkt file and show me how I need to modify this file to hold the slope of L1.

In other words, I need L1 to act like the out-of-the-box sub LinkSLopeToElevation. Also, I want the user to be able to modify the slope after the corridor is built if necessary.

Thanks.

 

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 16 (1,305 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: ccookusi

That looks pretty good to me. The changes I would make would be:

1. Add a input parameter for the ditch depth (if you want users to change this)

2. P2&L1 set the Elevation Target to DitchElev so that the depth of the ditch follows that profile (if it is targeted).

3. Change the Foreslope to take a postive number and then in P4&L3 use a "-" in front of variable. "-DitchBS"

4. Change Ditch Botton to Ditch Bottom Width or Ditch Width. I got confused by the value

5. Figure out what you want to happen if the bottom of the ditch is above EG. Do you add a berm or do a straight cut from P1? You might want to add P3 as an Auxiliary Point and then check it's elevation vs EG. If it is above EG, then continue down from P2 otherwise add the ditch and cut up. The tricky one is where P3 would be above EG, but P2 is below EG.

 

By having the slopes as input fields in SAC, you can modify them both when the SA is used and at each station in the corridor model.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.

 

 



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 3 of 16 (1,302 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: ccookusi

Ok.

Although my problem lies in P2&L1

What do I put in the properties to hold the L1 slope?

Should I, or do I, need to use a different "Point Geometry Type"?

For Slope, I have an input/output parameter "DitchFS" for the user to enter.

What do I put in Delta Y?

 

Can you post a screenshot of what I have attached?

Thanks.

 

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 16 (1,298 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: ccookusi

I didn't see anything wrong with L1. As the ditch gets deeper, the -3:1 holds. What are you seeing?

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 5 of 16 (1,287 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: ccookusi

If I use "Slope and Delta X" it holds the value for Delta X and subsequently doesn't follow the ditch profile target.

If I use "Slope and Delta Y", same..

All I want is for it to hold the foreslope, follow the ditch profile then tie into surface.

Can you post a screenshot of the properties panel to acheive this?

Thanks.

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 6 of 16 (1,278 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: ccookusi

I've attached a screen shot and an update of the pkt file. I think you are there with the Delta Y, just flip one value in the P2 element and you're done. (Unless i'm missing something).

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 7 of 16 (1,270 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: ccookusi

My Delta Y needed to be a negative value was the answer.

Thanks.

Would you have time to help me with one other subassembly?

 

If so, atttached is a simple pavement sub

I am having trouble with the superelevation aspect.

I don't know how to set it properly.

 

If I use (see attached), it uses "Right Outside Lane" calcs or both sides.

 

In other words, how do I need to modify this so it properly applies the left ouside lane and right outside lane super data?

 

 

Thanks.

 

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 8 of 16 (1,263 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 10:11 AM in reply to: ccookusi

There are a couple of ways to do this but the basic way is to set a variable for the lane slope and then fill in that value based on input from the user/system.

 

One method would be to do a switch statement based on the "side" variable. If the side is "right" then set the slope using the API to the Right Lane Outside slope otherwise use the Left Lane Outside slope.

 

You could take it another step by having the SA prompt for Inside or Outside Lane.

 

The last way would be to ask which of the 8 possible values you want to use. This is what we do in our new SA because of all the different ways that you could set a lane. For example in a divided highway a lane might go to the right, but be on left side of the median and therefore it would use the left inside slope.

 

Another way to do this is to make a road section subassembly that would do both the left and right side of the road in a single subassembly. We've done some of these for Germany where the whole road works together to set the lane slope as well as the subbase slope, shoulders and ditch. If I was making SA for my work, I would take this approach because it gives me more control over the road section. I would either model from edge of shoulder to edge of shoulder and attach cut and fill or I might just model daylight to daylight if the job was consistent enough.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 9 of 16 (1,259 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: ccookusi

One method would be to do a switch statement based on the "side" variable. If the side is "right" then set the slope using the API to the Right Lane Outside slope otherwise use the Left Lane Outside slope.

 

Can you show me how the above is done with a screenshot or two?

Thanks.



Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 10 of 16 (1,253 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer 2013 (Need help with simple Sub)

07-02-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: ccookusi

Here is a screen shot and a simple PKT file that shows one way to do it.

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs