AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,781
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 9 (523 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

523 Views, 8 Replies
01-15-2014 07:55 PM

Forgive me. I have not had a chance to look at SAC; mainly because I can't think of what I would do with it.

 

What can you do with SAC that can't be done with an OOTB component?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 9 (509 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-15-2014 08:55 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

The simple answer is you can do things that can't be done with OOTB assemblies.

 

Fred Ernst had a novel approach for one in this thread: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/Civil-3D-grading-for-solar-PV-site-and-golf-c...

 

Think of a gang of mowers following a dozer that plane and shape the ground. Each mower is linked to the adjacent mower with a link that prevents it from deflecting more than a certain amount. As long as the ground is flat enough the mowers don't change the ground, but if there are steep dips or mounds the mowers lock and cut the tops or (magically) fill the dips.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 9 (469 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-16-2014 07:25 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Here is the opposite approach, my first one I created was a very simple daylight subassembly. We just wanted one with basic slope input but allows us to apply +/- to either slope so we can force it to go down even if it is a cut situation.

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,715
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 9 (420 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-16-2014 09:08 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Another thing SAC can do is a conditional that measures the cut or fill height at the surface intersection and not vertically at the attachment point. SAC can do a very many things that OOTB subs can do, it's up to your imagination.

You could make a "Road Subassembly" with all other subs essentially built in with switches for the type of curb, SW boulevards, anything. Not that I necessarily advise this, but it can be done.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 9 (408 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-17-2014 04:38 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
...but it does require some investment in time to learn to use it which most people have difficulty with....it's been on my "to-do" list since it was first released....
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,781
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 9 (396 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-17-2014 05:44 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Thanks guys. I guess I'll work on my imagination :smileyhappy:
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 9 (383 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-17-2014 06:42 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Thanks for bringing it up Joe. Think I'm in the same boat.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 9 (378 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-17-2014 07:05 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Oh that's funny.

 

"You'll never grow old if you continue to try new things, continue to learn...and never mind being contradicted."

 

 

Think that was Twain. :smileyhappy:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,781
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 9 (368 Views)

Re: Sub Assembly Composer. Why?

01-17-2014 07:45 AM in reply to: jmayo
isn't it?
I can remember sailing around the world in a ship built out of the dinning room table with the leaf open for the lower deck and some pillow cases for sails.

But can't think of a different wat to go 3:1 {|:-)
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs