AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
jtuzyk
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,604 Views)

Station/Offset/Elevation Import

1604 Views, 3 Replies
08-26-2011 04:38 PM

Hey,

 

I am looking for a method of importing a csv, with "Station, Offset, Elevation" to create either points or breaklines.

 

Example:

 

Pt Name, Station, Offset, Elevation

1200A, 25.000, 00.000, 528.478

1200B, 25.000, -13.653, 528.392

1200C, 25.000, -14.581, 528.004

1200D, 25.000, -15.581, 528.004

1200E, 25.000, -16.333, 528.202

 

Its for an assembly...

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,593 Views)

Re: Station/Offset/Elevation Import

08-26-2011 06:50 PM in reply to: jtuzyk

If you don't find a solution and were to consider third party software, take a look at the Alignment Point Import tool in MapWorks Design.  It will parse a CSV or even a TXT file, allowing you to specify the positions of the fields.  Works directly with Civil3D alignments, creates Civil3D points.

 

Dialog Example: http://www.dotsoft.com/images/mwdesalipntimp.png

 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,610
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 4 (1,584 Views)

Re: Station/Offset/Elevation Import

08-27-2011 06:59 AM in reply to: jtuzyk

 

Perhaps this might help:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIFvUQBlxxs

 

Bill

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 4 (1,577 Views)

Re: Station/Offset/Elevation Import

08-27-2011 08:47 AM in reply to: wfberry

That video looks like it's using the "Create Points - Alignment - Import from File" command.

 

The problem with that command is that it has no provision for importing Point Names or Numbers.

 

And another caveat, of course, is that C3D isn't built to handle the type of Point Identifier you want, and you can't use your identifiers as "Point Numbers".  So you have to import that as a "Point Name".  And all points in C3D also must have Point Numbers, even if they have a "Point Name", so you'll also have an arbitrary "Point Number" assigned to your Cogo Points, in addition to the "Point Name".

 

If you have to maintain those Point Names, then the only way I see to do it within Civil 3D (no 3rd-party tools) is:

 

  1. Rearrange your CSV file so that it's in "Station, Offset, Elevation, Point Name" order.
  2. Import the data using "Create Points - Alignment - Import from File", selecting Option 5 ("Station, Offset, Elevation, Description") as the format.  This will create Cogo Points in your drawing, but your "Point Name" will be in the "Point Description" field, and each point will get a newly-assigned Point Number.
  3. Dump these points out into a PNEZD file.
  4. Create a new Point File Format that is like the PNEZD format, but replaces "Description" with "Point Name", then use that new Point File Format reimport the PNEZD file you created in Step 3, overwriting the Cogo Points that are already in your drawing from Step 2.

End result should be what you want, albeit it takes a rather roundabout procedure to get there.

 

If you can live with having your point identifier in the "Point Description", rather than the "Point Name", you could stop the above procedure at Step 2.

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs