AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 1 of 6 (291 Views)
Accepted Solution

Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

291 Views, 5 Replies
01-25-2013 07:02 AM

I've seen comments from others that they use a 'one sheet per drawing' policy to avoid conflicts of overlapping text in modelspace, to allow more drafters to work on a project and to cut down on file size and corruption.  We have typically had two or three sheets in a drawing, depending on the length of a street.

For this project, when setting it up, I was considering changing our approach towards one sheet per drawing.  Then I thought to myself "Hey, no problem, I can set it up as usual and split them later if I want to."  The idea being that with everything xreffed & dreffed it's no problem to SAVEAS and delete one layout out ot this drawing and delete the other out of the other drawing.  Hey presto I'm at a one sheet per drawing situation.  But there was one thing I didn't think about: the sheet set manager.

 

So now I was thinking of splitting up a drawing.  I have sheet number, title, description set up.  I have callout blocks on both sheets referencing each other and referencing other drawings, and I have callouts in other drawings referencing these sheets.

 

What do you think?  Have I snookered myself?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

01-25-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: troma

sheet manager is pretty flexible when it comes to renaming sheets.   I wouldn't worry about that.   That being said, it's probably just easier when running plan production to set it up as 1 layout per sheet.

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 6 (269 Views)

Re: Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

01-25-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: dgordon

Not sure if I explained myself the best.

 

"sheet manager is pretty flexible when it comes to renaming sheets."

That's ok, but I don't need to rename a sheet exactly.  I will need to point the existing data within the sheet set to a different sheet, in a different drawing file.

 

 

"it's probably just easier when running plan production to set it up as 1 layout per sheet."

I don't follow.  What's plan production?  What am I running?  What am I setting up?  Do you mean 1 layout per drawing?  Or what am I missing?

 

Thanks for the help.  I know that I'm not as deep into sheet sets as many others, so I appreciate any advice.  Currently my only idea is to delete the sheet from the set and import the new sheet.  Then I have to reenter all the data and redo the callouts in any drawing that is refferencing the sheet.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,616
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 6 (259 Views)

Re: Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

01-25-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: troma
Every sheet has a target dwg and target layout. I think you can edit this in the sheet set property for each sheet. No computer in front of me right now but that's where I'd check first.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (256 Views)

Re: Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

01-25-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: mathewk

Hey, that looks promising!

I'll let you know how it goes (if it goes).

 

Thanks.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 6 (195 Views)

Re: Split drawing in half—but using Sheet Sets

01-28-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks Matt, worked like a charm!


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs